Prowler’s progress: Progressive proximity

As autumn gets officially underway, I revisited the small mantis that we found in our stonecrop nearly two weeks ago and which I reported here. I’ve checked several times to see if it was just a temporary visitor or if had taken up residence, and I’m happy to report that it is still there and active, though it doesn’t seem to have grown any larger.

Mantis on stonecrop 2776Most of the other insects that frequent the tiny blossoms are bumblebees , honeybees, and other similar-sized bees, all of which are very likely much too large to provide easy prey for this little one, which is barely an inch and a half long.

Mantis on stonecrop 2745But there are also smaller visitors in abundance, and the mantis is still there, so one would surmise that the hunting is good enough.  I hope so.

Mantis on stonecrop 2767I also hope that it finds a mate before the cold sets in.  Happy autumn, everyone!

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Portraits and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Prowler’s progress: Progressive proximity

  1. Is it a Carolina Praying Mantis (Stagmomantis carolina)? He is not full grown yet, you can see he hasn’t developed ‘half wings’ yet.

  2. Mike Powell says:

    Wonderful shots of the praying mantis, Gary. There is something vaguely prehistoric about its appearance and the colorful backdrop offers a wonderful contrast with his cool green tones.

    • krikitarts says:

      I’m in full agreement regarding its apparently-primitive appearance. I find myself wondering if there were 6-foot-long varieties back when dragonflies had 6-foot wingspans.

  3. benrowef64 says:

    Fantastic shots, it seems to be enjoying the shoot as well.

    • krikitarts says:

      It didn’t seem to mind my presence at all, but I didn’t use any extension tubes and so didn’t have to get any closer than 12 inches, but when I was moving in for various angles, I took great care to do so very slowly.

  4. Great photo! I love mantises! :)

  5. Meanderer says:

    Beautiful images, Gary. Looks like he is posing for the camera.

Leave a Reply

