Serenity Sunday: Last day of summer

Where does it all go, and why so fast? This has been a strange but wonderful summer, packed with family visits; travels to Minnesota, Wisconsin, and Michigan; injuries and surgery; no fishing or canoeing for practically as long as I remember; and hardly any music—though I am finally able to play my small travel guitar again. There aren’t many obvious signs of its passing down here in Omaha, except for the fading flowers and a few yellow-brown leaves falling from our sycamores each day; nearly all the leaves that remain on them are still lush and green. But during our four days back in northern Minnesota last week I kept my eyes open, and the changes were there for those who look for them.

Wetland 2455Wetland 2663Maple 2685

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Serenity Sunday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Serenity Sunday: Last day of summer

  1. Meanderer says:

    Thank you for reminding me about the equinox and the beginning of Autumn proper. Yes – there are early signs: red leaves here and there – and fruit ….. lots and lots of fruit.

    Love your second image. We can peek through the plants in the foreground with you towards the lovely light catching the gold, green, and red colours of the plants beyond.

    • krikitarts says:

      It’s my pleasure, M! I was actually thinking that the equinox would be today, the 21st, but a quick check showed me that we have another whole day of summer after all–an unexpected gift, to be sure. What a delightful surprise!

  2. Adrian Lewis says:

    Hi Gary – good pictures here! The top one is very good, but I agree with M – the middle one is something else >>> and I can see a picture within it – horizontally, take the central third of the frame, and vertically the upper half of that third, so that from the bottom up the frame holds sunlit grass, deep shadow, the bushes with autumn tints, and darker shadows at the top. Adrian

    • krikitarts says:

      Hi Adrian, I thank you for that, and (as usual) I read you loud & clear. In fact, I had actually considered that while composing my shots, and I have other images that contain tighter crops. I’ll revisit them and see what develops…

  3. Vicki says:

    Ahhh. The best time of the year on your side of the world with all that colour creeping into daily photos. Nice Shots. I rather like that first photo – taken at a height that shows what it would be like to walk through the grass. Not often one sees that.

    • krikitarts says:

      This wetland meadow is very close to the entrance to the cabin, and I wish I could show it to you in person some day. It has gone through many changes through the years, but yet it remains one of my very favorite spots. Some years you could walk right across the meadow without getting your feet wet, but other years you’d need hip waders. That’s part of the magic. Thanks for the “Ahhh,” Vicki.

  4. Well autumn is here…but summer is still putting up a great fight. Here in the U.K. we have had such a wonderful spring and even better summer (and I should have said after what was a mild and for many of us a dry winter) that one has to rather fear for the worst. I used to know an old countryman who said that there was always so much weather up there above and we all get our share…if you don’t get it now by George you will get it all soon enough. We will see. When you find the trick of getting time to stand still let me know as I am getting tired of running to keep up with that ever ticking clock.

    • krikitarts says:

      Ah, the proverbial elusive trick. In spite of having been a science fiction fan as long as I can remember (I was already a member of the Science Fiction Book Club when I was 14), I’m very confident that any manipulation by us of the passage of time is far beyond our grasp. The only exception seems to be when travel approaches light speed, and that is a long, long way off. So in the meantime, let’s just keep running and see what we can catch!

Leave a Reply

