A fondness for fungi: Philiota

As I walked around our cabin a few days ago, my path passed by an old piece of pine trunk that I placed on a large birch stump from a tree that we had felled many years ago. I’ve never seen anything remarkable on either of them since the onset of their intimate proximity, but now there was a fine crop of what I’ve tentatively identified as (possibly golden) Philiota mushrooms. Most of the images that I’ve been able to track down online show them growing on birch, but this group was definitely sprouting from the pine.

philiota 2649At first I thought they were puffballs, but a closer look revealed the stems and the gills under the caps. If any of you mycologists out there can help me to nail them down a bit more, I’d be grateful. I’m just happy that I was able to see them in what appears to be one of their healthiest stages. I’ll be back there again in a couple of weeks and will be eager to have another look at their condition.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in A Fondness for Fungi and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A fondness for fungi: Philiota

  1. Truels says:

    Fine photo of nature’s wonderful artwork!

  2. Beautiful specimens Gary – I also share your fondness for fungi! Nice composition too with the lichen included :)

  3. Vicki says:

    A very healthy crop indeed, and an excellent photo of them.

  4. Isaac Yuen says:

    Beautiful! Yes I agree, lovely composition with the lichen in the background.

  5. benrowef64 says:

    These mushrooms look great when they old. I wouldn’t eat them as they are poisonous and more potent when mixed with alcohol.

    • krikitarts says:

      There are several very-similar species, some of which are edible, but I’m with you for sure, Ben–I wouldn’t eat them without an absolutely positive identification by an expert. As for your other comments, I wouldn’t hold that against them, as I, too, am more potent when mixed with alcohol. Up to a certain point. Also, I look better, too, the older I get. What’s not to love about mushrooms?!

  6. Meanderer says:

    Very nice. Love the colours and forms.

  7. The subdued colors harmonize nicely here, Gary.

  8. Adrian Lewis says:

    Lovely picture, Gary – I very much like the combination of golden yellows and the pale blue-greys and, as M says, the differing forms of the two plants. Adrian

    • krikitarts says:

      That combination was the first thing that attracted me to this little gem of a still life. I wish it had been in a slightly higher location than a foot or so off the ground, though, as I had to go into a series of most uncomfortable contortions to get the angle I wanted. Ah, well…

Leave a Reply

