Let it bee

We have managed to make it back up to the lake cabin for a few days to check on things a few weeks in advance of a week of music and photography fun with my band of buddies, followed by one more with CD for a final fall fling and the chores of closing things down here for the winter. The temperature has been dropping to within a few degrees of freezing at night but there are, as yet, very few signs of the inevitable dominance of the phycoerythrins that will precipitate the color changes that herald the classic autumn. I am surprised to see that there is still a lot of green in the bracken, which I expected to have turned mostly brown by now. In the woods, only the tips of an occasional maple have started to transform into the red range. During the warmer afternoons, an occasional mosquito can be seen (and felt), but there is a definite feeling of breath-holding anticipation of the first hard freeze, which cannot be far away, and which will set the chain of the changes in full motion. Still, it hasn’t appeared yet, and I had a lovely walk this afternoon on the trail I’ve carved in the woods across the road. I wanted to do some studies of the blue asters that are in such good form at this time of year, but it was blustery and they were all bobbing around in the wind. Under such conditions, I look for some that have grown up amid the branches of fallen trees that will hold them relatively in place in spite of the gusts. As I focused in on one such protected one, my photo angel Frances came through and provided an additional treat in the form of a small bumblebee (Bombus ternarius) that was slowly probing deeply and methodically into the blossoms.

Bumblebee on aster 2545I am hoping for a real frost in the next day or two. Please keep your fingers crossed for me. I am ready for autumn.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Fleeting Beauty and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Let it bee

  1. Vicki says:

    Your Photography Angel Francis is a ‘gem’ – what luck she/he brings.

  2. krikitarts says:

    Frances is definitely a she, and she is a wonder. And I’m very lucky to have her on my side.

  3. seekraz says:

    Sweet Frances…and oh, the glory of Fall. I shall miss the red maples and golden aspen this year, but will intentionally make it up north to the San Francisco peaks of Flagstaff to get my mid-autumn fix in a few weeks. Enjoy your stay at the cabin, Gary…sounds like a pleasant retreat.

    • krikitarts says:

      It’s been a haven for decades, and I can’t imagine not having it as a part of my life. Looking forward to seeing what you’ll do with your Flagstaff adventure!

      • seekraz says:

        You’ve been fortunate to have such a place, Gary, a true haven from the busy-ness of the world…and yes, stay tuned, for I shall be posting on my autumn trip to Flagstaff!

  4. Meanderer says:

    Love the pretty blue colour of the asters.

    Autumn here seems to be on hold; temps are due to rise to the mid twenties here this week. It’s lovely to have the mix of soft September light – and a bit of warmth!

  5. I like the way the color of the bumblebee’s fur harmonizes with that of the aster’s disk flowers.

Leave a Reply

