A prowl on the petals

The day before yesterday a small movement on one of our stonecrop (sedum “purple emperor”) plants attracted CD’s attention just outside our front door. It’s been years since I’ve seen any mantises (order Mantodea) other than the leaf-green Asian ones that attain such large proportions. I’ve been looking for a closer identification for this one but haven’t been able to nail it down yet. It was rather small, less than two inches (5 cm) long.

Mantis on sedum 2452For the second time in three days, she’s been responsible for my subject matter. Thanks again, CD!

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Portraits and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A prowl on the petals

  1. benrowef64 says:

    absolutely brilliant, interesting subject with a nice composition.

  2. What a great image Gary! It is quite surreal, the delicate beauty of the flowers and then the mantis (which is beautiful in it’s own right) :)

    • krikitarts says:

      I find the color combination of the two quite interesting as well, and I don’t think I’ve ever seen that green-gray mottled color on another one. Surreal is a very apt description! Come to think of it, I wonder what I could do with a bit of HDR treatment…

  3. Meanderer says:

    Beautiful capture. They are amazing creatures.

    • krikitarts says:

      I do so agree, M. I was fascinated the first time I ever saw one and have been delighted with each new encounter through the years. It’s a bit uncanny how they are able to swivel their heads to such an extent, especially when they look at you over their shoulders!

  4. Vicki says:

    Great Shot, Gary.
    Lovely capture of the flowers and the mantis (who’s an unusual colour).

  5. krikitarts says:

    Thanks, Vicki! I really should take some more time to see if I can find an identification for this (in my experience) unusual variety. I think I’ll ask my favorite entomologist…

  6. Cristina says:

    Wonderful capture and those flowers look great :)

Leave a Reply

