Serenity Sunday: Mickeys Creek

The linguistic pedants among you will wonder about the lack of an apostrophe, and so do I. Be that as it may, I don’t know if there were two or more Mickeys who lived in the area (in which case this version of the name would, according to my grade-school grammar teacher, Ms. Thistlebottom, only be appropriate), or if there was only one, and the person who named it for the first cartographer had a grammar teacher who came from a different school of thought from mine, or whatever else may have happened in the past—this is its official name, and I’m (more or less) happy to leave it at that.

I found this place one week short of seven years ago. It’s located on the central plateau in Tasmania, off the southern coast of Australia, and I was there for a day of exploration. I drove slowly over the bridge, as I always do when I’m on a free day of travel, in order to have a good look at any body of fresh water I may encounter, being an admittedly-incorrigible hydrophile.

Mickeys CreekI drove on for a few dozen meters and parked my rental car a reasonable distance past the bridge, so as not to spook any native (especially piscine) wildlife that might have taken refuge in its shadows, and crept back. When I was just above the moving water, I cautiously leaned over to have my first close look, and was rewarded by the unforgettable view of at least three trout, which I conservatively estimated to have been (trust me!) at least 24 inches in length, darting for cover at the sudden appearance of my silhouette against the sky above them. This was quite obviously a spot well-visited by local fly-fishers, and my pulse beat all the faster with a vision of seeing what I might be able to do to entice them to come to one of my own fur-and feather creations. But this would have to wait for another day. Oh, how I long to return!

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Serenity Sunday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Serenity Sunday: Mickeys Creek

  1. Oooh, my hubby would love to go fishing there :).

  2. Adrian Lewis says:

    Good stuff, Gary! And love the mergansers in your banner. And Ms. Thistlebottom, really??? Isn’t the world a wonderful place??? And I didn’t know you’re a hydrophile either. And we used to eat trout caught in the streams flowing off Mt Kenya – wonderfully tasting fish! A

  3. krikitarts says:

    No, not really, her name wasn’t really Ms. Thistlebottom, nor did I invent the name: it (actually Miss Thistlebottom) originated many decades ago by Ted Bernstein when was a New York Times Editor, as a relentless stickler for rules of grammar of dubious validity that were nevertheless vigorously enforced. And yes, trout are definitely delicious, but I have been a catch-and-release advocate for many years. I still fish, but the only thing I bring home are photographs. And I savor them, too!

Leave a Reply

