Melancholy Monday: Morning mist near Natimuk

One of my photo buddies in Australia, Lisa, recently posted a photo (here) that she’d made in the early morning hours, and I was reminded of this occasion. I have had quite a few trips to Australia, mostly connected with work, and in spite of my passion for photography, I almost never stopped for a photo while I was on my way to an assignment. This day in 2008, one week short of six years ago, was not an exception, but rather a travel day, traversing many of the long Australian miles between South Australia and northern Victoria, so a stop of a half-hour for the wonderful lighting conditions did not compromise my duties in any way. As my route took me near Natimuk, the mist of a morning fog was still lingering over a pond, and I stopped for a closer look.

Near Natimuk 2534Thanks for reminding me of this, Lisa!

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Melancholy Monday, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Melancholy Monday: Morning mist near Natimuk

  1. Lovely shot Gary – such a sense of peace. I can see why you were reminded now -the layers of mist are so familiar! Thanks for the link too :)

    • krikitarts says:

      You are so welcome, Lisa! I really do love a foggy day–even when it obscures what most consider to be a spectacular view. There’s an ethereal mystery that stirs my imagination every time.

  2. Meanderer says:

    Very beautiful, Gary. A wonderful sense of peace comes through.

    • krikitarts says:

      It was a magical place, perfectly calm and utterly serene, with a small wading bird slowly making its way back and forth through the mirror-like surface. I was very lucky–and very grateful–to have been able to stop to take the time to enjoy it.

  3. Mike Powell says:

    I love the pastel shades of the sky (and the reflections) and the wispy grays and white of the mist and the clouds. You captured the beauty of a special time of the day that most of us miss.

    • krikitarts says:

      I suspect that you are not a stranger to early rising with your love of Huntley Meadows, and one of the very (very!) few things that I miss about being retired is the frequent opportunity to be out and about by dawn’s early light in exotic places like this. Of course, I suppose I could do it routinely now, too…but naaah…

  4. Adrian Lewis says:

    Very beautiful, Gary, absolutely lovely! What do I like? The cool colours, and the great feelings of calm and relaxation. And the horizontalities (is that a word?) – the island, river bank, the low cloud, the high ground, the high cloud – wonderful stuff! The nearest tree is a notable exception – and decidedly adds something, not least because it’s in three of the horizontal strata. A

    • krikitarts says:

      Ah, Adrian, I can always count on you for some extra analysis, and again, I thank you for it. Yes, I am very grateful that I had the time to compose carefully, and I’m very pleased with the results. And you read me perfectly: My mood was definitely one of calm and relaxation. Thanks for your empathy!

  5. Truels says:

    Mornings and mist – both great for photos – and you got both here in this fine photo – giving a wonder-ful and peaceful atmosphere.

Leave a Reply

