Nebulous noteables: Looming over Leech Lake

It was the 21st of June, just about seven weeks ago, and we had decided to treat ourselves to dinner at The Lucky Moose, one of our favorite restaurants near the cabin, on the outskirts of Walker, on the south shore of Leech Lake. I had been following with interest the slow buildup of some large cumulus clouds during the afternoon, and as we walked back to the car after our meal, I glanced back over my shoulder toward the northwest and was rewarded by this view of what had become of one of them.

Looming over Leech Lake 06-21-14The only camera I had with me was my cell phone, and exposing for the details in the cloud left those in the face of the building nearly lost in deep shadow, so in order to salvage more of the information than I’d have been able to with just conventional Photo- Shop processing, I’ve called on Nik’s HDR Efex Pro 2 program for assistance. First I converted the image to monochrome, did some tweaking with its controls and saved it the result, and then followed up with a bit of burning and dodging of the foreground structures.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Nebulous Notables and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Nebulous noteables: Looming over Leech Lake

  1. Such drama! Beautiful clouds Gary and you did well to pull back the foreground details :)

    • krikitarts says:

      It was a toss-up. If I had exposed for the foreground, the cloud details would have been lost. Yet another reminder to carry our favorite camera with us whenever we can. One never knows when the photo angel will come to call…

  2. Joan says:

    I remember storms out of the northwest over Leech Lake well. The clouds became very very dark and threatening and we usually got a bad storm. So good to see it again.

    • krikitarts says:

      Once one has seen one of these coming in over Leech Lake, how could one forget? It is indeed a very special place, and I’m happy that I was able to rekindle a fond memory, Joan. I also remember well our visits with you and Richard at your place. Good times!

  3. Meanderer says:

    Very dramatic! You did well with your cell phone.

  4. Finn Holding says:

    Magnificent! There’s some extreme drama going on there. Did it turn into a thunderhead and culminate in a deluge?

    It’s amazing what’s possible with a mobile phone camera.

    • krikitarts says:

      It most certainly did develop into a mature thunderhead, complete with deluge, but happily its path did not coincide with ours. And yes, I too am amazed at what these phone cameras can do. It’s fun to imagine what the next ten years will bring us!

  5. Definitely dramatic. Nice going.

    • krikitarts says:

      Thanks very much, Steve; good to hear from you again. Love your electric water cascade!

      • Thanks. Now if you could just send that cloud bank to Texas long enough for me to photograph it, I’ll be sure to send it right back.

      • krikitarts says:

        Hmmm, let’s see–first I’ll have to travel back about 7 weeks in a time machine, find a rather large, hermetically-sealable envelope, and try to get it in the post office door. Once I’ve managed that, I’ll see if I can come up with the postage. Rest assured that I’ll let you know as each step of the process is successfully accomplished. But don’t expect a self-addressed and -stamped return envelope.

      • Sounds doable. You might check Amazon for some of those large hermetically sealed bags. The return postage will be on me.

Leave a Reply

