Serenity Sunday: A lily a day (keeps the humdrum away)

There are so many things that we walk by every day and look at, without really taking the time to see them. Just outside the front door of our house we have a rather nice patch of floral diversity, one element of which is a variety of daylily. CD would really like to have all white flowers, but when she was looking for white daylilies a while ago, the local nursery recommended these, as they were the closest to white that they had in stock.

Yellow daylily 1464Though they’re not really white, we’ve come to enjoy them very much. I’m pretty sure that this yellow daylily belongs to the genus Hemerocallis, but I hesitate to designate a species, much less a variety, as I’ve discovered that there are many.

Yellow daylily 1462As I walked by them yet again yesterday, I finally took the time yesterday to stop and look (and see) deeper into this particular individual, and I very much liked what I saw.

Yellow daylily 1458So take the time to look a little more deeply…

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Serenity Sunday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Serenity Sunday: A lily a day (keeps the humdrum away)

  1. Another winning set Gary, I love the little pollen grains – looks like we’ve both been having fun with the macro :)

    • krikitarts says:

      It’s so nice to have a few good macro tools. They are certainly one crucial set of keys to the portals of another, parallel universe, which deserves far more contemplation than most of us are willing to devote to it. Isn’t it a treat to be among the minority?

  2. Winnie says:

    The texture of the petals brings me to imagine myself as tiny enough to snuggle up in them. Lovely.

    • krikitarts says:

      Now, that’s a recurring dream of mine, to be able to miniaturize myself (and my favorite camera gear too, please!) and undertake explorations of this intimately-close and yet often-overlooked world of our tiny, oh-so-close neighbors. Some scenes in Avatar struck a resonating chord in me. Let us continue to dream…

  3. Vicki says:

    Lovely images.
    I haven’t seen one that particular shade of cream before, only the white and brightly coloured ones. It’s a real beauty. I also like white flowers as I love the contrast of white and green in nature.

    • krikitarts says:

      Cream is a really good description for the pale yellow. If I had to pick a favorite color, I’d have to say it”s green, though with my background in the study of the monochrome branch of the art, the black & white palette would have equal status. Come to think of it, it’s been far too long since I posted a monochrome offering…

  4. Dan Traun says:

    Beautiful. Lovely detail.

  5. seekraz says:

    I’m glad you stopped and looked a little deeper, Gary…so very beautiful. Well photographed!

  6. Meanderer says:

    Love the little pollen specks!

Leave a Reply

