Invasive interloper

There’s an uninvited guest in our garden. It was a glorious afternoon today, and while I was out looking at our purple cone flowers (Echinacea purpurea), my attention was drawn to a close neighbor, which at first I thought was mint. As I studied its tiny flowers more closely, with one of the large Echinacea blossoms behind it, I was drawn to the way the two seemed to enhance each other, and I focused on a few of its flowers with the more-distant Echinacea as a background. CD said that it wasn’t anything that she had planted, so we looked it up under Nebraska wildflowers and pegged it as purple loosestrife (Lythrum salicaria). As far as I’m concerned, it’s quite welcome to stay and share its beauty with the rest of the flowers, and I hope to see it again next year!

Purple loosestrife 1474

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Invasive interloper

  1. Vicki says:

    Love the composition of this photo, Gary. Very attractive flower.

    • krikitarts says:

      Thanks, Vicki, I was lucky–not only that it was naturally “looking” into the rest of the image, but also that both flowers were at a convenient height for me to sit in a chair, for comfort’s sake.

  2. The color is simply stunning. I have no words for it other than BRAVO!

  3. Great image Gary, the Echinacea is almost like a sunburst behind the interloper – very nice :)

  4. Mike Powell says:

    Wow. Those two flowers work so well together with their similar colors and sunburst shapes, but very different sizes. It takes an amazing eye to visualize an image like this and a skillful photographer to pull it off. You’ve shown again, Gary, that simple subjects, when viewed in the right way, can turn into a stunning image.

    • krikitarts says:

      Very kind words, Mike, and I’m very grateful. It’s true that visualization (of how the final image will appear before the photograph is made) is one of the most essential elements in the process–and one of the most valuable lessons I’ve learned from my studies of the teachings of Ansel Adams. I strongly suspect that you know his work too–right?

      • Mike Powell says:

        I do know his work, though I have not read enough about his approach and techniques–I’m still very much a neophyte, though I have moved to a point where I think of myself as a photographer.

  5. Meanderer says:

    Lovely image, with an unusual and compelling composition. I like the way the echinacea looks giant-sized in the background – like one of the garden elders overseeing the youngsters! Or like a sun in a floral universe – its rays beaming out an unusual light.

    Yes, garden gifts – blown in on the wind or by way of birds and small creatures. I noticed the other day an oriental poppy growing in a small plot I had cleared a couple of months ago. To my knowledge these poppies hadn’t grown in the garden before.

  6. Adrian Lewis says:

    Absolutely beautiful and colourful image, Gary, and I go along with M re the unusual and compelling composition. Adrian

    • krikitarts says:

      The composition sort of worked itself out. I knew what I wanted as soon as I saw the potential, but it took me nearly half an hour and a dozen exposures (only one of which was sharp enough) to get it right. Thanks again for your compliment and your support!

Leave a Reply

