Eee-aye-eee—Io!

I’ve had precious little time for photography recently, as I anticipated, but a week ago one of the wee folk apparently decided to offer me an opportunity I couldn’t refuse. We noticed a rather large moth fluttering around outside one of the windows in the evening, but it wouldn’t land so I could get a good look at it. The next morning, however, the first day of summer, this glorious Io moth (Automeris io) was perched on the outside of the window pane. Lighting conditions were challenging at best, but when small rays of sun shone through the pines and lit up the patterns in its wings from behind, I managed to get a dark-ish background around it for a somewhat unconventional ventral-view study.

Io moth 283

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Wildlife and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Eee-aye-eee—Io!

  1. neihtn2012 says:

    Stunning capture!

  2. Adrian Lewis says:

    Its a great picture, Gary, and I can see it’s a moth, but if we lose its abdomen and wings it reminds me very much of some little hairy goblin or kid’s toy! Adrian

    • krikitarts says:

      Isn’t it great fun to project what is familiar to us onto the visage of a new creature? I hesitate to speculate how it would feel about the removal of its abdomen and/or wings, but on the other hand, it might delight in the opportunity to be a child’s toy. Who knows?

  3. Truels says:

    Amazing photo!!!

  4. Hello Gary! Great capture and I have to agree with Adrian, it looks like it has a face with a great big beard!

  5. Amazing photo, the detail is absolutely special. You did such an exceptional job with some really hard conditions.

    • krikitarts says:

      It’s fun to rise to a challenge, Charlie, as you well know. BTW, my Waze app suddenly started working, and I’m having great fun with it. Thanks for the recommendation!

  6. Vicki says:

    What a great shot.
    It almost looks like a bat with a winter coat and strange wings. It certainly doesn’t look like a moth (or even a butterfly).
    Even……..Adrian’s suggestion fits it too.

    • krikitarts says:

      You have quite an imagination with resemblance to a bat, but I can sure agree with the winter coat. And, yes, I’d love to have had something like this for a fluffy toy as a kid!

  7. Meanderer says:

    What a wonderful, delightful, and unusual shot! When I first saw the upper part of the image, I thought it was going to be a cute furry mammal of some kind, and then when the wings appeared I was amazed! What a cute and characterful moth. I agree with Adrian that it looks like a cuddly goblin or gremlin or a child’s soft toy. I’ve learned about a moth I’ve never been aware of previously :-)

    • krikitarts says:

      There are a number of wonderful moths around here, but this is, I think, only the third time I’ve seen one of these. The characteristic blue eyes on the underwings are usually well hidden, so I was doubly lucky to get it from this angle and with this illumination.

  8. zannyro says:

    How incredible! It looks like a crazy teddy bear with wings!

  9. seekraz says:

    That’s quite a shot, Gary. Very nice.

  10. This is rather hilarious. Love it.

Leave a Reply

