Honey moon

A rare conjunction of events occurred last Friday. First, with the sun’s path across the sky at its highest during this month of the summer solstice, the moon is at its lowest, which keeps the lunar orb close to the horizon and makes it appear more amber than other full moons this year, hence the term honey moon. Second, because its orbit around the Earth is egg-shaped, there are times in the lunar cycle when the moon is at its shortest distance from Earth (called perigee), some 224,976 miles (362,065 kilometers) away; this month the perigee just happens to coincide with the moon’s full phase. Third, a full moon coinciding on Friday the 13th is not all that uncommon, occurring every three or so years—but the combination of a honey moon and Friday the 13th is rare, last occurring on June 13, 1919, according to the popular astronomy site Universe Today, and we’ll have to wait until June 13, 2098, for the next one. I made this photo from a small nearby park that gave me a clear view of the moon with a few pines in the foreground. I’d sure love to know how much more rare it is to have a cloudless sky as well!

Honey moon 06-13-14Interestingly, astronomer Bob Berman says that the honey-hued moon, which always occurs in June around the summer solstice, may have given us the modern term “honeymoon,” with weddings traditionally held in June in some cultures. [BTW, thanks to the National Geographic for most of the explanatory information in the first paragraph.]

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Night Photography, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Honey moon

  1. lauramacky says:

    Beautiful moon photo!

  2. You lucky dog, you!!! I totally missed it because of the heavy cloud cover :(. That’s a gorgeous shot Gary.

  3. Emily Gooch says:

    Beautiful capture, Gary. Very nice composition using the trees to frame the moon. And thank you for the interesting information about honey moon. I learned something new.

    • krikitarts says:

      I hadn’t known about it myself until I picked up a pizza wearing a t-shirt with moon phases, and the young woman behind the counter asked me if I had chosen it with the honey moon in mind…

  4. Meanderer says:

    Fascinating! Lovely image of the moon as it is cradled by the pine branches! Hope you are well.

    • krikitarts says:

      The shoulder isn’t too bad and lets me do more than I thought I would be able to, but there are still lots of things that I can’t. I’m so eager to have it repaired on July 25. Thanks very much for your kind concern, M!

  5. emilycd says:

    Beautiful shot!

  6. Adrian Lewis says:

    Great picture, Gary, and fascinating detail too – I have a feeling I’ve read the same about the derivation of honeymoon. All best wishes for 25 July! Adrian

    • krikitarts says:

      I’m looking forward to it with very mixed feelings, but mostly I want to get it behind me and to be able to do things again with that arm that I can’t now. Thanks a lot, man!

  7. Peggy says:

    OMG…did not enjoy getting eaten by mosquitoes BUT what an incredible result! Gary, the photo is fabulous and sure would love to see the sequence…

Leave a Reply

