Pileated partners

We spent the Memorial Day weekend at the cabin and in spite of the best weather we can remember for this occasion, we spent the vast majority of it dealing with a severe water leak. I did, however, manage to get in one hike back into the woods. Practically the first think I saw was a beautiful pileated woodpecker that landed on a tree not quite out of camera range, but fairly close to the ground and with a good deal of brush between us, so that I was able to creep a bit closer. It was soon joined by another, and they spent several minutes there before flying to another nearby tree. I followed them for close to a half hour and was able to get a few decent shots. Considering the size of their red crowns, I believe that they are both mature (or near-mature) females.

Pileated partners 9998I’ve seen them before, but this is the first chance I’ve ever had to observe them working in cooperation as a pair. Thank you for this, Frances!

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Fleeting Beauty and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Pileated partners

  1. Beautiful birds and a great shot Gary, love the framing through the brush :)

    • krikitarts says:

      There’s a lot to be said for selective focus. The birds were moving frequently enough that I abandoned the individual spot-autofocus option, focused on the tree trunk, and switched to manual. Of some 30 shots, this was the one that provided the best representation of both birds. I, too, love shooting through brush and incorporating the other natural elements in the result. Thanks, Lisa.

  2. The one on the left is saying ‘I can hear an echo’……..Nice shot

  3. Finn Holding says:

    I’ve spent a lot of time trying to capture green woodpeckers here in the UK and I know how difficult it can be. Terrific shot.

  4. Adrian Lewis says:

    Great picture – and what spectacular birds! A

  5. Meanderer says:

    Well seen and captured, Gary!

Leave a Reply

