Serenity Sunday: White Park Bay

Exactly 14 years ago yesterday, while on a work trip to Northern Ireland, my itinerary took me from Belfast up the eastern and northern coasts to my lodging (in the Bushmills Inn—but that’s another story). Along the way, exploring the coast of County Antrim, I made a stop at White Park Bay, which contains a crescent white beach nestled between two heads of land stretching out into the sea toward the Isle of Man. Here’s an excerpt from my journal:

The rain had stopped and, although the weather was coming from the south, and I could not see the sky in that direction, it felt like I would have respite from the precipitation for a while. I parked the car and undertook a careful scramble over the wet rocks, no particular goal in mind. They were rough enough not to be too slippery, with the exception of those right at the water’s edge, which were lush with seaweed and even at this low tide constantly washed by the waves.

I spotted these Sea Pink flowers, aka Thrift (Armeria maritima), on a grassy ledge and climbed a rather precarious slope to get the perspective I wanted.

White Park Bay 3WPB Rock-Flowers-2WPB Rock-Flower-1This was one of my first trips with my first digital camera, and the resolution is not up to what I have come to expect in the meantime, but I still think back to these days with great fondness and love to relive them through my journal.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Serenity Sunday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Serenity Sunday: White Park Bay

  1. mv71 says:

    nice images and flowers

  2. I love the first perspective!

    • krikitarts says:

      I worked harder to get that than I dare relate, lest I seem to be fishing for sympathy for, or empathy with my dedication to the visualized, eventual fine print–which I had firmly in mind. I really appreciate that you approve, Ruth!

  3. Adrian Lewis says:

    Yes, that first shot is a wonderful landscape, Gary – good stuff! Adrian

  4. Vicki says:

    I think that first shot is a stunning composition, Gary. Nice to have the pink colour in the foreground and clear focus leading into the background. In fact, I like the second image as well. Excellent focus and exposure.

    (I really should keep a journal too, but never think to write notes when I’m out & about with my camera. I suppose I could think of my old blog as a kind of journal as I wrote about most walks as well as sharing images).

    • krikitarts says:

      Journals are really wonderful investments, provided one has the time to make the necessary notes along the way and to fill in the details soon afterward. I was very fortunate to have had not only both of these, but also the encouragement and support of CD, who was not able to accompany me on most of my 25-or-so years of work-related travel. My journals are now among my fondest treasures and a legacy to my family.

  5. Meanderer says:

    Very pretty. I love thrift. Such a sweet little flower.

Leave a Reply

