Melancholy Monday: Pampa profiles

I traveled to Argentina in June 2004 and my itinerary included the area known as La Pampa on one of the weekends. As we approached a park that a colleague of mine was eager to show me, this tree in an adjacent field, with a large bird perched in its upper branches and a grazing horse nearby, caught my eye, and I asked for a quick stop. I walked slowly back so I wouldn’t cause them any alarm, and was able to make this study of their profiles in silhouette.  The two smaller birds were an unexpected bonus.

Pampa Birds 06-19-04I made the original image in color and converted it to monochrome today with Nik’s Silver Efex Pro 2 software.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Melancholy Monday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Melancholy Monday: Pampa profiles

  1. Jeff Sinon says:

    What a great tree! Excellent photo Gary.

    • krikitarts says:

      I’d like to be able to identify the tree, but it’s pretty hard without its leaves!

      • Jeff Sinon says:

        I know what you mean, I’d like to be able to identify more of the subjects I shoot. I’ve got a great wildflower app on my iPhone. I know many of the trees in the area, but would love to find an app for identifying mushrooms. And spiders, and insects… :-)

      • krikitarts says:

        Look no further than http://www.audubonguides.com/index.html, Jeff! What a coincidence–I recently downloaded the guides for mushrooms and insects & spiders, and also reptiles & amphibians. They were on sale recently and may still be, and they’re great (though be forewarned; they are large and take a long time to download. Well worth it, though!

      • Jeff Sinon says:

        Thanks Gary. They’re the ones who made my wildflower app, so it should have occurred to me to look there.

  2. Vicki says:

    Great image. Love the silhouette.

  3. Meanderer says:

    A lovely, peaceful image, Gary, which works so well in monochrome.

    • krikitarts says:

      Though I made the original shot in color, it was very subdued and looked almost mono without conversion, but I tried it both ways and this was my preference. I’m glad that you like it this way!

Leave a Reply

