Triple tulip tribute

I’d like to dedicate this to my daughter Squiddy and also to her daughter The Elf in celebration of their birthdays, today and last Sunday, respectively.
I’ve been meaning, for some time now, to make a more frequent departure from my usual tendency to present images that reflect careful attention to detail, and to expand a bit more into the more nebulous area of the abstract. With this in mind, today I made the first multiple-exposure images that I’ve attempted in decades. I programmed the camera to underexpose by 2/3 of a stop; set it for manual focus, ISO 125, f/11 and 1/30 second, and used my wireless remote release. I made three exposures, taking care to make one when there was no motion due to wind and the other two when the flower was bobbing gaily around. I made three tries and selected the best one to work with.

Triple tulip 9734The image was brighter than I’d hoped, so I decided to bring out the details with a little after-capture work with Nik Software’s HDR Efex Pro 2 program. I started with the Deep preset and fine-tuned the controls to produce this result, which was much more in accordance with the image that I had envisioned at the outset.

Triple tulip 9734 NikHDRI have only rarely presented two versions of the same photo in my posts, but I’ll make an exception today—I’m not doing this in order to ask you to choose which one you like better, but rather to share my thought process with you. I hope you like them both—and happy birthdays to my beautiful girls!

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Abstract and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Triple tulip tribute

  1. Mike Powell says:

    Happy birthday to the girls (and I really like your creative approach with the tulip).

  2. lauramacky says:

    Very cool result! I’ve never tried multiple exposures. I’m sure the girls are honored. :)

    • krikitarts says:

      My camera will allow only 3 exposures. Have to see what I can do to work with this restriction…

      • lauramacky says:

        I honestly don’t even know anything about it! Something to look up in my manual. :)

      • krikitarts says:

        I remember it well from my pre-digital life, and it’s a treat to see that today’s digital wonders still permit us to use this tool. A tip: Pick your desired aperture and note the shutter-speed settings that the camera recommends, then switch to manual and divide the recommended shutter speed by the number of exposures you wish to make. For example, if you want to make three exposures and the ideal single exposure requires 1 second, make each exposure 1/3 second, so that the overlapping portions of the final image combine to produce the desired luminance. Good luck!

      • lauramacky says:

        Oh thank you for that handy tip!! I just made a screen shot of this so I won’t forget it. I can’t wait to try it now. :)

  3. Happy Birthday to Squiddy and The Elf and awesome results with the multiple exposures :).

  4. Happy birthday to the girls! You’ve made a wonderful tribute here. I enjoyed reading about your process. The results are fascinating, and I’ll be looking forward to more projects like this one!

  5. Adrian Lewis says:

    Hahaha!!! Oh god, you know what I think about HDR, my friend! And I know you’re not asking for our views on these two shots, but I prefer the upper one, as I think the lower one has too much detail and structure in the petals, I prefer the blurrier upper shot.

    Glad you’re looking at alternative techniques, its always good to try things out. Not sure about the Nikon you have, but mine will automatically calculate multiple exposure exposures – or don’t you trust that method? And yes, happy birthday to your’s – tho it was yesterday! Adrian :)

    • krikitarts says:

      I appreciate the tip, Adrian–I’ll try that out. I shouldn’t be surprised and should have thought of that myself. I just checked my manual and mine will also calculate the appropriate individual exposures when Auto Gain is turned on. Cool!

  6. Happy Birthday to your girls! I prefer the first one and the colour is great. Funny that you have posted this, I’ve been doing a similar experiment but took 3 images gradually throwing more out of focus and then stacked them in PS – always fun to try something new :)

    • krikitarts says:

      What a coincidence! The last time I tried multiple exposures, that’s exactly what I was doing–playing with focus rather than motion. Obviously great minds…

Leave a Reply

