Seasonal dichotomy

I am very happy to be able to send out another post, at long last, and expect to provide more in the very near future.  I returned from my seven weeks in New Zealand just a few days ago and am working on a return to normalcy, but so many things are threatening to bubble over on the front burners that this website has, of necessity, taken a while to get to.  At any rate, I’m back home now and am very much enjoying  the signs of early spring flowers, but I’ll have to wait another day or so to bring you images of them.

As I left New Zealand, autumn had just started, and shortly before my departure I had a chance to re-visit a scenic reserve that I had been to only once, some 20 years ago.  As one travels north from Auckland toward Whangarei, it’s about a 45-minute drive and is fairly easy to miss, but it’s well worth a stop.  The Pohuehue River runs through it, and it’s a very nice bit of native bush.  The Moirs Hill Walkway that leads to the waterfall is not too strenuous and takes around 15 minutes for those who don’t stop to carefully set up tripods and such for photography.  I’ll start my catch-up efforts with a few images that I made there.  It was a brilliant, cloudless day, so I bracketed my exposures to be able to take advantage of the magic of High-Dynamic-Range processing to be able to include the details in the deep shadows as well as in the brilliant highlights.

Moirs Hill Walkway 9305Moirs Hill Walkway 9313-4-5Pohuehue Waterfall 9243-4-5Moirs Hill Walkway 9326

The plant with the wonderful serrated leaves is Elatostema rugosum, or New Zealand begonia; its native Maori name is parataniwha (pa-ra-TAHN-ih-fah).

It’s good to be back with you, and please stay tuned, as I’ll be posting again soon.  Please click on an image if you’d like to see it at higher resolution.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Travels, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Seasonal dichotomy

  1. Welcome back – I can’t believe seven weeks have gone by! Great set of shots – I especially like the texture and patterns in the final one :)

  2. Vicki (from Victoria A Photography) says:

    Yes……welcome back, Gary.
    I love the details and patterns of nature up close (as you know).
    Lovely images and I’ll look forward to seeing some more over the coming days. (have had to cut back on blog following but a few, including yours, remain on my favourites list).

    • krikitarts says:

      Ah, Vicki, I so understand your decision to cut back, but I’m honored to learn that I’m still on your short list and I’ll try not to disappoint you!

  3. Wow, such wonderful details and texture. I kept wanting to reach out and touch the photos :). You have been greatly missed, and I can’t wait to see what you have to share from your trip!

  4. lauramacky says:

    Beautiful photos! It’s not easy to make green look diverse and interesting. I could almost smell them. :)

    • krikitarts says:

      What a nice compliment, Laura! I am convinced that New Zealand has a number of variations of green that are unique. I noticed this during my first visit around 1980 and the feeling has been reinforced with each subsequent one. I think it has to do with the thinner ozone layer…

  5. Meanderer says:

    Beautiful – so full of lushness!

    • krikitarts says:

      So true–I just love any chance to immerse myself in NZ’s native bush whenever I’m there and it was a real treat to be able to re-visit this spot after so many years had passed. Must post more real soon. Thanks, M!

Leave a Reply

