Adventures in Middle Earth, 2014 (2)

I have been meaning to keep you up on my doings here much more diligently than has been the case, but one of the reasons for my apparent negligence is that I came down with a stomach/intestinal virus that had me laid up for 36 hours.  I won’t go into any details, but I’ll just let you know that I lost about 5 lbs (2.3 kg) in the process.  I’m well on the mend now and am feeling very nearly back to normal.

Last week CD and I booked a night in a bed & breakfast place on a little island out in the Hauraki Gulf.  We caught the ferry in Auckland and rode for about 20 minutes out to Waiheke (rhymes with hi, Mickey) Island and had the better part of two days of fun, adventure, and lots of walking/climbing exercise.  On our first day, we rode the bus pretty much as far as we could to get a general feeling for the parts of the Island that we had not seen on our single previous visit 6 years ago.  We found our accommodation, the Punga Lodge, on line, and though it was nothing fancy, it was clean, comfortable, and perfectly adequate for our brief stay, nestled in a little valley about 10 minutes’ walk east of the town of Oneroa.  Though we had no oceanscape vista, the view of the thick bush from our little deck was luscious and serene.

Punga Lodge View 7848On our second day, after a breakfast of fruit and huge homemade blueberry muffins, we undertook a walking tour starting a leisurely stroll along the beach of Little Oneroa Bay, which was only a few minutes’ walk back toward town.  I always look for interesting shells and hermit crabs whenever I get the chance, and I was not disappointed.

7857 Little Oneroa Bay Beach 7857Then we took deep breaths and headed up a staircase to a path along the higher reaches of the hillside, through the Valley of Tranquility, and eventually to a road and back to town.  7870 Little Oneroa Bay 7870We have greatly enjoyed our getting to know this little spot of serenity, and we’re considering an extended stay (maybe a month) within the next few years.  Stay tuned!

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Travels and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Adventures in Middle Earth, 2014 (2)

  1. Vicki says:

    Looks heavenly, Gary – well worth an extended visit some time.

    Beachcombing has to be a favourite past-time, but there, the best beaches near me for this, are just slightly past the reach of bus & train. You & CD are lucky to be fit for such beautiful long walks.

  2. Take me with you please!!! It looks heavenly :). Glad you’re feeling better because there’s nothing worse than being sick on holidays.

    • krikitarts says:

      I almost agree–the worst is when it hits during travel. Happily, I was spared that extra insult, and I’m so grateful that it happened when I was with family and able to simply take myself out of the picture and get the rest I needed to fight it off. Thanks, Cindy!

  3. Looks wonderful! Sorry to hear about the virus, but glad you’re feeling better!

  4. Meanderer says:

    Sorry to hear you’ve been unwell but glad to hear you are on the mend!

    It looks wonderfully lush there, and – as you say – so serene.

  5. Glad to hear you are felling better! Are you coming down to Wellington?

    • krikitarts says:

      Good question, Alicia–likely not this time around, sorry to say. May make it as far as Wanganui for a weekend to see some dear friends, but i’m likely to get down your way within the next year or two, and will certainly let you know when it’s on my horizon!

      • That’s great – it would be really nice to meet you one day! Enjoy the rest of your trip to NZ – I visited Wanganui for the first time last year (I was covering a wedding there) and it has some really pretty (and photogenic!) spots.

      • krikitarts says:

        It surely does. Next time you’re there, park behind the airport, as close to the beach as you can get, stroll over the dunes, and check out the incredible collection of old tree stumps and driftwood that have collected over time. Granted, it’s been a few years since I’ve had a chance to visit it, but I’ve never been disappointed with the inspiring subject matter I’ve found there.

  6. anitaozolins says:

    Well the like button magically appeared here! Was nice to see little waiheke again! X

Leave a Reply

