Places remembered: Piako River(bank)

I am preparing for another extended (7-week) trip to New Zealand, starting tomorrow.  I’m very excited at the prospect and am eager to see what I’ll be able to share with you.  This scene is one that I photographed in September 2004, on my way to the Coromandel Peninsula, a drive of about 3 hours southeast of Auckland.  I hope to spend some of my time in this area, so I’ve chosen this to whet our appetites for opportunities soon to come.

Piako Riverbank 09-14-04We’re looking toward the northeast with the beautiful toe-toe (pronounced toy-toy) grasses, very similar to pampas grass, in the mid-foreground, along the banks of the Piako River.  More soon!

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Places Remembered, Travels and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Places remembered: Piako River(bank)

  1. RobynG says:

    Beautiful! I can’t wait to see what you return with! Safe travels! Robyn

  2. lauramacky says:

    What an amazing shot! You accentuated the toe-toe beautifully. I know you’re going to have a wonderful time. Travel is so fun!

  3. Meanderer says:

    What a beautiful place! Have a great trip. Looking forward to seeing your images!

  4. Vicki says:

    Lovely shot.
    Hope you have a safe trip and enjoy your holiday.
    Look forward to seeing NZ images in the near future.

  5. Have fun my friend and travel safe! I can’t wait to see more gorgeous photos like this one :).

  6. Winnie says:

    Appetite is whetted! Have a wonderful visit. I’m looking forward to seeing and hearing more of NZ!

  7. settleandchase says:

    Sounds fantastic! have a great time!

Leave a Reply

