Webnesday (12)

It’s that time of the week again, and I’m going to take you back to a warm afternoon in November 1984 in Fort Worth, Texas.  I was attending a most un-memorable training session on a topic which I remember very well, but with which I will not burden you.  In fact, it was so boring a series of lectures that, during the brief breaks, I would go outside and lie in the grass to see what I could see to take my mind in a more pleasant direction.  And sure enough, I was invited to share some time with a tiny crab spider that was waiting patiently for someone to visit the center of the flower where it had taken up a hopeful position.  I wish I could identify the flower, but its name escapes me.  Can anyone help?

TX Spiderlet 11-08-04My camera was a Nikon Coolpix 4500, and I shot this, hand-held, at 1/590 second and f/7.5 at 400 ISO.  It’s one of my best memories of Texas—except that I went to an unbelievably-huge bar complex called Billy-Bob’s, and I saw Eddie Rabbit in a wonderful live performance, shortly before his untimely death.  I’m not normally a fan of “country” music, but I still love to listen to his stuff, most especially I Love a Rainy Night. Yee-Haw!

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Music, Webnesday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Webnesday (12)

  1. Vicki says:

    Nice shot, Gary.
    Is it a Phlox?
    I just googled 5 petalled pink flowers and it looks similar to a phlox – I’m not familiar with the species, but vaguely remember having seen it before.

Leave a Reply

