Old Salem sunshine

My photo friend the Meanderer recently posted a lovely photo (here) of horse chestnut leaves that she’d photographed through a window fogged over with condensation.  I was immediately reminded of a scene that caught my eye back at the end of November, when CD, Schwes, and I made a trip to Old Salem while we were on our North Carolina road trip.  The tree outside was, I believe, a Willow Oak, and I shot it through a window that was, if not the original, at least typical of the quality of glass  that was used when the community was young and thriving, possibly in the early- to-mid-1800s.  The settlement was founded by members of the Moravian church, a group that emigrated there from the kingdoms of Bomemia and Moravia, in what is now the Czech Republic.

Old Salem 6196When I first processed my photos from the day, I passed over this one because of its relative lack of detail, but when I revisited it today, I was quite pleased with its abstract, dreamlike, and warm quality.  I very much like how the uneven glass has distorted the autumnal and wind-blown leaves of the old tree.  Just click on the photo and some of the details will become a bit more clear.  Thanks for the memory jog, Meanderer!

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Abstract and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Old Salem sunshine

  1. Meanderer says:

    It is a very beautiful view through that lovely old window. Compared to my image (thank you for the mention and link!) it is very vibrant,colourful, and detailed, and I like it very much.

    Isn’t it curious how images we one day overlook, become interesting and more beautiful after time passes?

    • krikitarts says:

      It’s really true, M. I used to be far too critical when I’d look at my new images for the first time and simply cull those that didn’t speak to me directly at the time, not saving them anywhere. Now I very rarely delete any until I’ve saved them all to an external hard drive, and I’ll keep what I consider to be the best in my laptop–and the best of the best on the memory card. Storage is so wonderfully inexpensive these days. And, yes, from time to time I really enjoy revisiting a set from the past, and it’s not unusual to find something that bears a new look and a bit of post-processing improvement. One of the bloggers I follow calls them forgotten treasures. It would make a good new category!

  2. Mike Powell says:

    It’s like a natural stained glass window–I really like the effect.

    • krikitarts says:

      Right on, Mike. That’s exactly what attracted me to the scene in the first place. I made three bracketed shots with the windowpane in focus and three more with the focus on the leaves, and I liked the darkest of the latter the best. I shot it hand-held with my 18-140 zoom (at 140), ISO 250, and on aperture priority at f/13, and -1 EV (one stop underexposure). And isn’t that glass incredible? Wish I had a filter like that! I’ll have to try blowups of those “bubbles” on the left…

Leave a Reply

