Refreshing refractions

When we visited the Judge C. R. Magney State Park last month, we hiked a trail that, we thought, led to the Devil’s Kettle Waterfall on the Brule River.  As it turned out, the trail we chose was on the wrong side of the river for the classic view of the falls, but any hike in that area has its pleasant surprises.  One was the Arantia mushroom that I presented three posts ago.  Another was this trio of leaves submerged in a small side creek, highlighted by the brilliant refractions of the sun’s rays passing through the surface of the rippling water.  More will follow.  Please click on the photo for a higher-resolution image.

Magney refractions 5325

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Abstract and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Refreshing refractions

  1. Wonderful! Such marvelous color and light. The surface of the water adds adds such a fascinating dimension to the image.

    • krikitarts says:

      Ah, the wonders of water and light. One could make dozens of images of a subject like this (I made six) and no two of them would be the same. I love freezing fleeting moments.

  2. Meanderer says:

    How lovely, Gary. I like this very much.

    • krikitarts says:

      It was altogether a great day. I do so enjoy searching out the little wonders that so many pass by while looking for the big ones, like the waterfall at the end of the trail.

  3. Mike Powell says:

    When I clicked on the image, I lost myself in a world of light and colors and shadows–I could enjoy the part of the abstracted image that I could see on my laptop screen without wondering what it was or how it was produced. For me, that is one of the joys of shooting simple subjects close-up.

    • krikitarts says:

      Kind words, Mike. I don’t think I’ll ever tire of searching out the little mosaic pieces of the big picture. Thanks for letting me know that you liked this one, too!

Leave a Reply

