A fondness for fungi: Magney mushrooms

While we were in northern Minnesota and showing our friends from Germany the fall colors, we spent a day (October 16) in the Judge Magney State Park, an hour or so north of Grand Marais.  A number of wonderful mushrooms were growing happily in the leaf litter, and these two (Amanita species) were my favorites.  The lighting was very challenging and I used a modest HDR treatment so that I could bring you the highlight and shadow details in two different exposures.  Please click on the photo for a higher-resolution image.

Amantia 15310-12

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in A Fondness for Fungi and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to A fondness for fungi: Magney mushrooms

  1. Mike Powell says:

    I love your shot of the fungus goblet and the way that your were able to make it stand out from all of the “stuff” on the forest floor.

    • krikitarts says:

      They were off the main path (I was very careful where I stepped) and pretty effectively camouflaged. I’m happy that I was able to get them to–as you said–stand out so well. Thanks, Mike!

  2. That looks like it should be part of a fairy tale. I keep waiting for a little sparkly fairy to peek out from behind the stem :).

  3. Helen Cherry says:

    Terrific capture, Gary…perfect use of colour and light.

  4. krikitarts says:

    Once I’d seen them in their chosen site, I couldn’t leave them until I was sure I had enough material to do them justice. I’m glad that you like my result, Helen!

  5. Victoria says:

    Excellent image. The light on the fungi stem & cap show it off very well.
    I could imagine it would be hard to shoot if it blended in with the background.

    • krikitarts says:

      There was a pretty thick leafy canopy, but there was enough breeze to allow an occasional ray of light through. I waited until one lit the goblet cap, and it was worth the wait.

  6. I hope everyone does click the image…apart from the change in contrast (great) you get to spot the new crown emerging from the leaves. As for the large one it is a Fairies ‘Porridge Bowl’!

  7. Adrian Lewis says:

    Very beautiful image, Gary! Adrian

  8. krikitarts says:

    Thanks a lot, man, and thanks too for being so tolerant of another HDR workup on a natural subject!

  9. (Barbara) Ann Lindsey says:

    Gary,

    The images and thoughts are so soul-soothing. So glad to meet you at the GV Reunion. Please send some contact information. Thanks! “Barb”

  10. seekraz says:

    I love those colors…October. That’s an unusual mushroom, to me…fascinating. I like the smaller one to the left of it, as well.

  11. bluebrightly says:

    What a perfect shot! (I found you through In Flow). I don’t usually like HDR very much but your restrained use of it really works very well here. Lovely textures & colors & composition!

    • krikitarts says:

      Thanks very much, Lynn, for your support. Yes, HDR can oh, so easily be overdone, and it’s well worth developing a gentle hand, because it really has its place among our tools, especially under extremely-challenging light conditions. Happy to hear that you liked this offering!

Leave a Reply

