Early autumn update

I’ve been back at our cabin in northern Minnesota for almost a week, and the weather was unbelievably kind to me and my musical friends as we savored each other’s company and talents and the early fall colors.  Last year we had cold conditions and even snow, but this time we were mostly in T-shirts—what  a joy!  I promised that I’d post some images of the beginning of the autumnal finery, so here’s a start.  I’m going back up in a week, so more may well follow, unless there’s a major storm…

Buck Lake 14514Canopy 14901Branching out 14838

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Early autumn update

  1. Vicki (from Victoria A Photography) says:

    How beautiful the colours are, Gary. Looking forward to many more images as I love the Fall (or Autumn as we call it) also.

  2. Sunny and colourful as your great images are they do still suggest that the temperatures are shall we say ‘fresher’. It bodes well for your next visit!…autumn is yet to make its mark in the woods here too, not that I am complaining.

    • krikitarts says:

      I fully understand that you’re not complaining. It’s turned much colder up there since I came back south again, and I’m hoping that, as the best comes, I’ll be back up there to enjoy it.

  3. Gorgeous captures Gary!! I especially like the one looking up into the trees. I love taking shots like that – they really put into perspective how small we actually are don’t they?

  4. Mike Powell says:

    Beautiful shots of the fall colors. They bring back memories of growing up in New England, when the reds and yellows of the fall leaves seemed to be equally spectacular.

    • krikitarts says:

      Yup, it’s much more dramatic up there, and I’m really looking forward to going up again at the end of next week. The flaming maples are rare down here and so are the golden aspens (they call them popples in MN), and compared to up there, the NE autumn is relatively dull. There are always the bushes, though. Our Fothergilla, for example, is just starting to think about changing the color of some of its leaves…

  5. Jeff Sinon says:

    Great photos Gary. Looks like an amazing place, I don’t know how you leave.

Leave a Reply

