Embracing autumn

I had planned to do a special post on the equinox (September 21), welcoming the official arrival of autumn with open arms, but as you’ll have realized, I’ve been distracted.  Rest assured, however, that I was fully aware of the departure of summer, whose weather was particularly kind to us.  And now I am really ready for the changes that are starting to make themselves felt in the crispness in the air, the final fading of the flowers, the subtle transformation of a leaf here and there, and the southward flight of the Canada geese, so far above that they are almost invisible.  We were in northern Minnesota last week, and I spent several hours on my trail in the lovely woods, savoring their silent beauty and reflecting oh, so fondly, on all the times I’ve shared them with my little four-footed shadows through the years.

Red maple 3051Polypore mushrooms 14052Ivy on moss 14063Brown-eyed Susans 14268

 

 

 

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Embracing autumn

  1. Gorgeous captures Gary :). I love the beautiful colours of fall, but when I see the Canada Geese flying in formation, I run after them yelling, “stay, please stay, don’t leave me” because I know what it means when they go away. Why can’t we just skip winter???

    • krikitarts says:

      The best of autumn is yet to come, and it won’t be long. Um, if you don’t mind my saying so, if your real wish is to skip winter, you have chosen to settle in–shall we say–a rather challenging latitude. But an essential part of having done so is to maintain a sense of humor and, thank goodness, yours is active and healthy!

      • I love that – “a rather challenging latitude”. I know, but I love this country so much, and even though there are warmer climates elsewhere I wouldn’t want to live any place other than Canada. It’s just beautiful!! And yes, my sense of humour is going strong. I’ve always been a little crazy, and I’m proud of it. I think it keeps me young :).

  2. Vicki (from Victoria A Photography) says:

    Lovely reminders of the changing seasons, Gary.

    I often wish I lived in an area where I can see flocks of geese or other birds flying overhead – it must be a wonderful sight to behold.

    • krikitarts says:

      It’s not just the sight of the geese that stirs the soul, but also the haunting calls that they always sing as they fly. My heart catches in my throat each time I witness their journey.

  3. Not sure I am ready for the inevitable change but at the same time also looking forward to the change in colours (we are still green). Nice simple shot tells the story.

    • krikitarts says:

      Actually, we are (mostly) still green too, but the changes are starting to make their appearance for those who care to look closely. And, yes, I usually prefer the simple shots, too.

  4. Mike Powell says:

    I love fall and this week I finally am starting to see the signs in abundance. Already a few Canada geese have transited through my local marsh and I look forward to migrating ducks as well. We don’t have the brilliant fall foliage like I observed as a child growing up in New England, but there are some fall colors gradually appearing. I really like your composition and color in the first shot, a shot that simply and elegantly speaks volumes about the new season.

    • krikitarts says:

      I really missed the saturated show during my time in your area, and I’m so happy to be back here, especially at our n. MN cabin. Just drove up again today for a week–good stuff to come!

  5. Meanderer says:

    Beautiful colours and patterns. A wonderful selection to greet the season of Autumn.

  6. Adrian Lewis says:

    All striking images, Gary, but oh that 2nd one down – WOWEEE! :)

    • krikitarts says:

      I will be revisiting that stump in the next few days, you can be sure. There are several others worthy of investigation, but I agree with you, that one is really spectacular. Thanks so much for your enthusiasm!

  7. Winnie says:

    Register an echo to the WOWEEE! I’ve gone back to that one several times. Since age 5 I’ve followed a quest to find the perfect autumn leaf, so I particularly appreciate those portraits as well.

    • krikitarts says:

      Now, there’s a real challenge! I have also undertaken such a quest, but there are so many examples to choose from, and what a joy it is to try! I’ll gladly settle for a personal collection of nearly-perfect favorites. And I hope to bring you more in the very near future.

Leave a Reply

