The leaving of Limo

Ten days have passed since my last post.  This was not my intention, but a dreaded event has come to pass that has occupied most of my attention.  Our dear, sweet Limo was diagnosed with malignant lymphoma about a month ago and he responded well to therapy until we arrived back up at our cabin in the north woods last week.  I am very grateful that he was able to make that one last trip, and he now rests with our other past pets in a special glade that I’ve maintained through the years.  He did not suffer, and when he let us know that it was time to leave, his passing was mercifully quick and painless, and CD and I were with him and held him in our arms.  He was almost certainly our last dog (at least one dog has been a part of our family for the past 40 years), and there is now a large, silent void in our lives.  We still have our wonderful black cat Leo, and he is a great comfort.  A part of Limo will always live on in our hearts.  Farewell, faithful friend.

March 2007May 2007July 2012March 2013

 

 

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to The leaving of Limo

  1. Joan says:

    Dear Gary: I know how you are feeling. I lost my beloved cat Dakota a couple of months ago and I miss her so much. She was a kitten when we found her up at Leech Lake and it was when we were coming home. The next Spring there she was all matted and full of burrs. I probably told you the story. But I miss her cuddling up to me. I still have Flash a miniature greyhound and love him dearly also. Love Cuz Joan

  2. Vicki (from Victoria A Photography) says:

    I am so sorry to hear this news about Limo, Gary.

    He was such a gorgeous dog too. It must have been like losing one of your family and as a vet and animal lover, I know you would have ensured he didn’t suffer.

    The photos of him are lovely.

  3. Jeff Sinon says:

    Gary, I’m so sorry to hear of Limo’s passing. Your words and images are a wonderful tribute.

  4. Ogee says:

    I am so sorry or your loss. What a beautiful – and obviously much loved companion. They leaves us too quickly, but we would not be without them.

  5. Oh Gary, I wish I was there right now to give you a big giant hug. I am so sorry to hear about Limo, but he will always live on in your heart and in your photographs. I hope you will share more of his photos with us. We would love to hear more about him.

  6. Mike Powell says:

    Dogs fill our lives in ways we never fully appreciate until they are gone. No words of sympathy from me or from others can adequately fill that “large, silent void” that you described. My experience with dogs has shown me that they embody some of the traits that I value the most: loyal, energetic, curious, trusting, and loving. Is it any wonder that they steal our hearts? Best wishes to you and your family as you adjust to this major change in your lives.

  7. Winnie says:

    Such a handsome boy. I love the silkiness of his face and ears. It’s wonderful to have these photos and memories.

  8. wolke205 says:

    Das tut mir so leid :( Ich bin froh, dass Ihr noch eine schöne Zeit zusammen verbringen konntet und Ihr bis zum letzten Atemzug an seiner Seite wart… Er war ein wunderschöner Hund und wartet bestimmt am Ende der Regenbogenbrücke, bis Ihr Euch wieder seht…

    Liebe Grüße

  9. lijiun says:

    Hi! You’ve celebrated a great moment of life with Limo. It was truly awesome for both of you… Stay Well!

  10. Adrian Lewis says:

    Oh I can understand about the void left, Gary – commiserations, my friend! Adrian

  11. krikitarts says:

    I am very grateful to all of you who have written for your kind support, for your words of condolence, and for your friendship. They mean a lot to me, and I thank you so much!

  12. settleandchase says:

    Oh Limo, how sad..he looks like just a wonderful and happy character. Our pets just mean so much to us don’t they..how lucky we are to have known them, and how great that you have taken such lovely images to share Limo with us.

  13. seekraz says:

    I’m so sorry, dear Gary…and seemingly too soon after your old kitty passed, as well. Sending you a hug, my friend, and warm thoughts.

  14. Angeline M says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss. He was a beautiful dog.

  15. Meanderer says:

    How sad. I’m sorry to hear that news, Gary.

  16. neihtn2012 says:

    Sorry for your loss, Gary. He looks like a great dog. Can you tell me what breed he was?

    • krikitarts says:

      He was a cross between a Basset and a Black Labrador. When folks would ask, we called him a Bassador. There are not many like him, anywhere, and I doubt that I’ll ever see his like again. Thanks, Hien.

  17. lauramacky says:

    Even though I’m a tad late with my post I’m so sorry for your loss, Gary. Limo was such a beautiful dog! The pictures you took captured his sweet soul. I love the one of him in mid-air. Too cute! I know how much pets mean to us owners as I’ve also been a pet owner all my life and am recently without one having just lost my cat. You were a wonderful pet guardian for giving so much love to your pets!

  18. cindy knoke says:

    Oh he is simply gorgeous! His sweet disposition just leaps off the page. I am so sorry for your loss.

Leave a Reply

