Portulaca pas de deux

I returned yesterday to the scene of the subject of my Portulaca post from the day before.  The blossom that I presented then had completely withered and disappeared, but more had appeared, as I had expected.  It rained from around 8 pm on Tuesday until 5 am yesterday, and everything was thankfully soaking up the much-needed moisture.  There was still quite a bit in evidence on the few blossoms, though, as the sun and wind had not yet combined to evaporate it.  This particular one was nestled in among a healthy, deep-red stonecrop plant, which helped to highlight the lighter delicacy of the rose.

Portulaca and stonecrop 13889

(As usual, please click on the photo if you’d like to see a higher-resolution image.)

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Portulaca pas de deux

  1. Angeline M says:

    I love this photo. Such beautiful flowers and plant. I’ve been trying to figure out what to plant in a border that will survive our summer heat….this is the answer I think. I wonder how they winter.
    Beautiful photo.

    • krikitarts says:

      Thanks, Angeline! Ours (Portulaca grandiflora Hook) are annuals, and must be re-planted each spring. They should easily survive your summer heat. We have 100F/38C here, they’re native to the tropics and hot climates. I don’t know how much of really extreme conditions (Death Valley?) they can tolerate, though. They are quite hardy and do well. They are small, though, which you can’t really tell from my photos; a full blossom is about an inch and a quarter in diameter. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

