Portulaca perseverance

Although our red roses have now lost all their petals, the little white Portulaca moss roses are still bravely enduring the heat and the drought.  I was having a close look today at those that grow in a planter on our front step, just as a minor thunderstorm rolled in from the west.  One in particular attracted me, and I was able to make only three images between rain squalls and buffeting winds.  This was the first of the three.

Portulaca 3880(Please click on the photo if you’d like to see a higher-resolution image.)

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Portulaca perseverance

  1. So beautiful! I had those in my garden one year, and they were dainty yet hardy. I should try them again next year :).

    • krikitarts says:

      Definitely dainty, and the bush itself is hardy, but the individual blossoms are quite short-lived; this one that I photographed yesterday has already wilted and faded. But there are many more buds ready to burst into delicate flower.

  2. Mike Powell says:

    I love the effect of raindrops on roses and other flowers. Your image does a wonderful job of capturing an explosion of such drops and looks especially amazing in higher resolution.

    • krikitarts says:

      I like the “explosion” description a lot. Thanks for the fine compliment, Mike! I was really lucky to get the three shots before the rain and wind drove me inside again, and that, for this one, the rose really held still for me.

  3. Adrian Lewis says:

    Once again, this is a very beautiful picture, my friend – that flower is stunning – and do I detect some colour restoration via SEP2 – very, very nice job! A

    • krikitarts says:

      Yes, you do–as I knew you would, and I’ve been waiting for you to notice. This was my very first attempt, and I can’t believe I’ve put it off so long. What a wonderful addition to my toolbox (and I have you to thank for the inspiration)!

Leave a Reply

