Serenity Sunday: Light in the darkness

On the last day of August, with only two more days at our cabin before returning to Omaha, a moderate front moved in from the west after sunset.  I went down to the dock to watch for the infrequent lightning, which—as far as I could tell—stayed up in the clouds.  While it lasted, I made a hundred shots or so, hoping to catch a good one.  There were a number of flashes that were more spectacular than this one, but this was the only one that happened to coincide with my hopeful timing.  It was 8:14 and there was still enough light in the far western sky to provide a nice, crisp horizon of pines.

Light in the darkness 13736(Click on the photo for a higher-resolution image.)

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Serenity Sunday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Serenity Sunday: Light in the darkness

  1. I appreciate the photo, it is very beautiful and does seem to set you on the path to thinking about things.

  2. mbeephoto says:

    Nice shot! I really which I’ll catch a flash one day, but I guess my time hasn’t come yet.

  3. Mike Powell says:

    Your patience really paid off (and the photo looks gorgeous in higher resolution).

    • krikitarts says:

      Isn’t it great to have the time to devote some patience to a photo prospect? Though, as with your recent water snake, sometimes the subject’s patience goes way beyond ours!

  4. seekraz says:

    Wonderful capture, Gary….what a beautiful moment.

    • krikitarts says:

      It really was. I was expecting rain to appear and to come my way, but it never did on that evening. It was like watching a very distant, barely-audible fireworks display. Serene!

  5. Meanderer says:

    Wonderful and atmospheric.

  6. Finn Holding says:

    Fine shot Gary. I find sitting and watching a thunderstorm on my own is probably the most inspiring thing to do. I’d be very pleased if I’d taken it! The colours in the sky are lovely and you’ve captured the rain falling out of the clouds too.

    • krikitarts says:

      There is a power there that really is inspiring. These storms change so much in character according to time of day and distance. No two are ever quite the same, and you never know what one may bring.

  7. Adrian Lewis says:

    Oh this is a beautiful picture, Gary! I love the pink sky below the lightning, the blues up in the clouds, and the beautiful colours reflected on the sea – wow! And having that big dark clump of trees on the left is just right – good stuff! Adrian

    • krikitarts says:

      I thank you so much! I was fairly confident that, if I kept at it long enough, Frances would come through for me and provide at least one coincidental flash. She came through for me–with one only. The others are very nice too, but the lightning really dots the eye. And thanks also for letting me know that you like the composition so much!

Leave a Reply

