Echo of an echinacea

As summer winds down (sigh), I watch with considerable interest the flowers that are struggling to look as good as they can, though they’re noticeably past their prime.  I can certainly identify with that.  CD’s new crop of little tomatoes is flourishing, in its prime, and providing many very tasty little morsels.  And growing among the lush jungle that their healthy branches provide are the last of the echinaceas, our purple coneflowers.  This one spoke to me today and asked me to share her with you.

Echinacea with tomatoes 3871She also asked me if I could give her a bit of a facelift, so I’ve obliged her with a little cosmetic HDR application.  (Click on the photo for a higher-resolution image.)

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Echo of an echinacea

  1. Jeff Sinon says:

    Nice photo Gary. Love the bright splash of color amid all that green. Mine too are in a sad state of decline.

  2. Those blooms that come at the end of summer that are precious and few are the images we hold onto the tightest.

    • krikitarts says:

      You’re so right, Charlie. If only more folks paid closer attention to the mature beauty of aging individuals, they’d be able to appreciate much more fully what serenity awaits us all.

  3. victoriaaphotographyictoria says:

    Lovely photo of the Echinacea flower (amidst the green of the tomatoes).

    (They look lovely when just coming out in flower, but so discoloured & messy as they die. I noticed Echinacea flowers look funny after the rain too).

    • krikitarts says:

      So do I. So does my dog. Don’t you look funny after you’ve been rained on? You must be even more special than I thought! For my part, I think flowers look especially good after the rain. In fact, maybe I do, too. Come to think of it, who’s to say you can’t look funny and good at the same time?

  4. Mike Powell says:

    I really like the details in the photo–the texture of the different leaves, the spherical shapes of the green tomatoes, the contrasting colors of the coneflower. It is interesting to hear that you used HDR, because the effect is subtle, compared with the often garish results that I have seen.

    • krikitarts says:

      I was really trying for a subtle effect, and I thank you for your interest. It is quite easy to be heavy-handed and overdo the special effects, and I’ve certainly done my share of those as well, especially when the tools were new. But as I’ve learned more about them, settled down, and managed to restrain my exuberance, I’m liking them–and my results ever more.

  5. All part of life’s circle. Roll on autumn, but slowly please we still need a little more summer, even if many of our floral friends are in decline. I don’t think I would have spotted HDR if you hadn’t ‘confessed’ ….nice tonal image

    • krikitarts says:

      How very nice of you to say so, David. I enjoy a subtle tweak now and again and have no reservations whatever about letting you know when I’ve used a post-processing tool like HDR. Thanks for the compliment!

Leave a Reply

