A liking for lichens: Bedecked birch branch

I’m way overdue for another lichen feature, and a good opportunity just came to light.  This white-birch branch fell spontaneously on the little trail that leads from the cabin to the wood shed, and I couldn’t help but admire the diversity of species that had settled down on this one small substrate.  To give you a sense of scale, this portion of the branch was an inch and a half in diameter.  (Click on the photo for a higher-resolution image.)

Birch branch lichens 3854

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in A Liking for Lichens and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A liking for lichens: Bedecked birch branch

  1. Winnie says:

    Wish I had a zoom lens on my eye…love this!

    • krikitarts says:

      Now there’s a compliment I’ve not heard before–are you saying you’d have liked me to get in even closer to my subject? I was as close as I could get and still encompass all of the elements I wanted to include, but if there’s a particular part of the image that you’d like me to zoom in on, I’ll be happy to see what I can do.

      • Winnie says:

        No, your photo is perfect! I especially like the colors and textures. My wish is that I could see the world like this naturally. (I’d actually settle for doing without bifocals.) Meanwhile, I’m having a blast seeing it through your camera lens!

  2. Adrian Lewis says:

    Wow, what a profusion! Wonderful organisms! A

    • krikitarts says:

      Each year they fascinate and astound me anew. I wish I had the time to devote some serious study to their myriad forms and their taxonomy. There are websites dedicated to that, of course, but a bit of personal immersion would be most beneficial. By the same token, I’d also like to learn to play pedal steel guitar reeeally well, hike the Milford Track in New Zealand, and become a single-malt Scotch connoisseur. Maybe in my next life…

  3. victoriaaphotographyictoria says:

    Fantastic shot, Gary.
    That has to be the most lichens I’ve seen in one small space ever. They make for a really interesting composition too. Nice mixture of textures & shapes.

    • krikitarts says:

      As soon as I saw the little broken branch lying there, I knew it had guided its descent to a place where I’d notice and appreciate it. When I picked it up for a closer look, I found myself having a much closer look than I’d originally intended, and just had to share it with you. How can anyone not share a certain fascination with the amazing lichens?

  4. Finn Holding says:

    Great to see another lichen post Gary. The air must be squeaky clean there!

Leave a Reply

