Developing a taste for photography

We’re back at the lake for a week and after putting Fizzy to rest with other past pets, I put in a lot of work yesterday on the new growth that’s developing after the logging.  I really needed some quiet time today, and I sat down on the shore where we launch the canoe.  The whole day was almost perfectly calm and, in spite of that, there were so few insect pests that I didn’t need any repellent.  I love to sit quietly and watch what’s going on around me, from wildlife on the lake and in the trees, to wide-angle views of what’s visible from that vantage point, to the tiny folk going about their activities in the adjacent foliage.  I had just begun to do some studies of a beetle that I didn’t recognize and had my main camera on its tripod, when an American hover fly (Metasyrphus americanus) became very interested in my activities and, in particular, my equipment.  First it landed on my UV filter and from there began exploring—and tasting—the rest of the camera.  It seemed unconcerned by my proximity, so I slowly pulled out my little Pentax WG2 and made a few shots, approaching as closely as it would allow.  This is my favorite.  (Click on the photo for a higher-resolution image.)

American hoverfly 11293

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Wildlife and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Developing a taste for photography

  1. Vicki (from Victoria A Photography) says:

    What a great catch, Gary.
    You’re a real pro at catching the light in just the right spot (to light up the insect).

    I can just imagine sitting there at the edge of the lake enjoying the view and sounds of the woods. Sounds like a lovely way to spend a few hours/days.

    • krikitarts says:

      The quiet times are mostly what I dream about throughout the winter, and an hour or so of quiet meditation and observation goes a long way in slowing down the pace and providing a much-needed dose of serene reflection. I value them most highly.

  2. Finn says:

    It looks like the hoverfly was emulating your good self and checking out the ‘Scene’. It was great timing to get it at that spot in that orientation, that blend of skill and serendipity that’s required to get the best wildlife pictures.

    • krikitarts says:

      There was quite a bit of serendipitous luck in getting my shot of the scene-sharer. I was able to make about a dozen and three of those were sharp enough to consider for posting; this was the sharpest, and it was in the best position. Love it when it works this way! BTW, are you on vacation, too? Haven’t seen a new post by you for a couple of months, and I miss them!

  3. Mike Powell says:

    Love the shot (and the title).

  4. This is proof of what patience does for photography :). Great shot Gary!!

    • krikitarts says:

      I’m grateful that the hover fly turned out to be as patient as I was, at least while it was checking me out. And it really is a wonderful adventure just to sit quietly and watch for whatever happens around me. And I find that the longer I can do it, the more I can see.

  5. MikeP says:

    That Pentax gives a nice DOF pic… photog not to shabby himself :-)

  6. settleandchase says:

    Cute!! I love to sit and observe too, it feels somehow primal to do it, sitting quietly on a rock or something and noticing movements and sounds from a distance..

Leave a Reply

