Farewell, Fizzy

We lost a family member today.  She was a kitten of six weeks when we adopted her from the Humane Society fifteen years ago.  She had such a combination of adorable outward appearance and underlying feisty character that we named her Fizzgig, after Kira’s pet in the animated 1982 Jim Henson/Frank Oz film The Dark Crystal.  Through the years, she mellowed considerably, and it was nearly always possible to coax a purr from her with a gentle rub between the ears.  Her absence leaves a small void in our lives, and tomorrow she will rest with other dear pets at our special place in the north woods.  Farewell, Fizzy.

Fizzy 04-25-11

(Note: No flick was performed.  No insult or injury was caused.  She was purring steadily.)Fizzy 04-11-09Fizzy 04-07-13Fizzy 04-18-04

Fizzy 01-31-10 post

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Farewell, Fizzy

  1. Ogee says:

    I am so sorry for your loss…and so glad that you had 15 years of happiness together.

  2. Joan says:

    I know how you feel about losing a pet. My cat “Dakota” had to be put down 2 months ago at the age of 17. She had a stroke and was paralyzed. I still miss her so much. She was a kitten when we found her up at Leech Lake. We took her to Jackie in North Dakota, hence the name Dakota. She then came home to live with us for about 10 years. Maybe you will find another kitten to replace “Fizzgig.” Love Joan

    • krikitarts says:

      No, she will not have a replacement. Our future plans cannot, unfortunately, include another kitten. She’ll not be forgotten, though, as you very well know! Thanks, Joan!

  3. Mike Powell says:

    My condolences, Gary. Our pets often play an important role in our daily lives that we take for granted. Fifteen years of love invested in a furry critter–that’s a lot of love.

    • krikitarts says:

      Yes, it can be all too easy to take them for granted, but I try very hard not to let that happen, but take care to appreciate the time we have together. We’ve loved and lost enough by now that we cherish them while we can, and let them know that we do. Thanks very much for your kind words, Mike.

  4. Dina says:

    I’m so sorry for you! My condolences.

  5. lijiun says:

    May Fizzy rest in peace!

  6. Angeline M says:

    Fizzgig looks like she was one pretty satisfied cat, and didn’t want for love. May the memories keep you happy.

    • krikitarts says:

      That’s fully guaranteed, Angeline! Satisfied is a good word for her. She had a bit of a temper in her younger years, but what good girl hasn’t? Oh, yes, she had lots of love, right up to the end–and beyond.

  7. Vicki (from Victoria A Photography) says:

    Pets are such an integral part of family life, that the loss leaves quite a hole. Your photos are wonderful and such a wide variety that I’m sure they’ll bring fond memories as you review them from time to time.
    She looks like one very contented, well loved cat. That first photo looks like she had two different colour eyes?

    • krikitarts says:

      It was hard to make a quick, brief selection from my archives of her over the years, and both CD and Batty were here to help me to make the final selection for the post. She will always be the source of fond memories, and my photos will help a great deal. I knew you’d understand, Vicki. And my, how observant you are! I was wondering if anyone would comment on that–actually, I’m sure that the iris in her right eye looks golden due to a reflection of the hearth fire in my UV filter. Both eyes were always the same color.

  8. seekraz says:

    Your images tell us that she had a good life, Gary…and speak well of your tender heart, as well. I am sorry for your loss…and wish you sweet memories of your little friend.

    • krikitarts says:

      She had a great life with friendly, playful companions–all one could hope for. I am very grateful that we were able to be with her when she let us know that she was ready to travel on. I’m also grateful for your sensitivity, kindness, and friendship, Scott.

  9. Aww, that’s so sad. I’m so sorry Gary :(, but at least you have many beautiful photos of her to remember her by.

  10. Winnie says:

    So glad she sought her family when it was time to pass on. It’s a special time for us and our beloved pets.

    • krikitarts says:

      Not only did she seek us out, but she waited for us. We were out of town for several weeks and her strength was such that she held on until we were home again. We took turns sitting with her all during her last night. I’m so grateful we were able to be with her.

  11. Hi, Gary. I am so sorry for your loss. I love these images of Fizzy. My condolences to you and your family.

    • krikitarts says:

      She really was one special cat, and was one of my favorite subjects throughout her life. I’m likely to post a few more favorites as time goes by, if you like.

  12. skuk2 says:

    Sorry to hear of your loss Gary. Condolences to you and your family.

    I’m sure the following weeks/months, or even more, will feel a bit strange. Sounds like you’ve taken lots of photos of her though so the memories will last forever.

    I too have a ginger cat called Charlie, who will be 14 tomorrow. He looks not too dissimilar to Fizzgig.

    Steve

  13. Jeff Sinon says:

    So very sorry for your loss Gary.

  14. Adrian Lewis says:

    Hi Gary! A sad loss, my friend – you must be feeling it. But good pictures of her – I love the humour in the top one, but the one which really gets to me most is the one above the bottom one – her pose, and the lighting, are just wonderful!

    While I’m talking to you, there’s a spider in my GARDEN 30 post that you might like to peek at – I’ve no idea about spiders at all.

    Commiserations once more – Life moves on. Adrian

    • krikitarts says:

      I’m really grateful that you gave me a prod here. I am really struggling to try to catch up with all of the posts that I’ve had to postpone looking at. There are well over 500 of these by now, I shudder to say. Your new spider is just lovely, and it’s a wonderful photo!

      • Adrian Lewis says:

        500, eh? wow! I was in a similar situation after returning to blogging after my catastrophic IT collapse, and I resolved to answer them all. My method was to answer the newly incoming ones, so as to stay “up to date”, and then to reduce the static backlog of earlier posts in quite small bursts, as time allowed. A

  15. settleandchase says:

    Aw Fizzy, what a beautiful cat, I’m sorry to hear this – you’ve captured a real personality here though in your shots, which I think is a skill, and hard to do with animals. Lovely, and so “catty”!

    • krikitarts says:

      Personality? Oh, yes! It’s really amazing, but not all that surprising, how different they can be, even when brought up in the same environment–just like us big folk!

Leave a Reply

