Golden opportunity

Just the other day I paid my first visit to the seven-acre area that was practically clear-cut a year and a half ago, to have a look at the progress that the new growth is making.  It is very promising.  Thousands of popples (the local term for aspen) are competing for access to the best sunlight, and many wildflowers are flourishing in the sandier spots.  One of my favorite of these is the sky-blue aster (Symphotrichum oolentangiense).  As I focused in on the blossom, a hoverfly (Toxomerus sp.) came to visit, and I managed to catch it in flight as—true to its common name—it hovered above its edge.  How I do love high summer!  (Click on the photo for a higher-resolution image.)

Hoverfly on aster 11963

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Wildlife and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Golden opportunity

  1. seekraz says:

    Such detail on that little guy…what a capture!

    • krikitarts says:

      A very lucky one, indeed. I was set for spot focus and he hovered, very still, for long enough for me to switch the point of focus from the center of the flower to his back. I’m so pleased that it turned out so well!

  2. Vicki (from Victoria A Photography) says:

    Great shot of that hoverfly, Gary. As Scott says, ‘such detail’. I’m assuming it was a really fast shutter speed to capture that fly?

    • krikitarts says:

      Quite right, Vicki. I had been seeing several insects and there was an unpredictable breeze, so I was ready for fast shooting. I had my ISO set at 1000 and shot this at 1/2500 second and f/10.

  3. I share your summer sentiment and love the shot :).

  4. Mike Powell says:

    Wonderful shot, Gary, of the hoverfly. You really nailed the focus on that little guy and captured him in all of his glory. I know from personal experience how tiny hoverflies are and how difficult to photograph, even when they are hovering.

    • krikitarts says:

      Yes, they certainly are hard to catch with any great detail. This is where I thank the camera engineers for the burst capability. I love to use that in situations like these and later pick out the sharpest. Thanks for the great compliment, Mike!

  5. Adrian Lewis says:

    Wow, Gary, I’ve clicked on it and that Hover Fly is crisper than crisp – wonderful quality! And great picture too! Adrian

    • krikitarts says:

      Awww, you’re too kind, Adrian! It’s another case of being in the right place at the right time and ready for the quick challenge–with yet another bit of help from Frances!

  6. Meanderer says:

    Well done, Gary. I love hoverflies and you have captured this one perfectly.

    • krikitarts says:

      So do I, M–they’re just gorgeous! I often see them in the early hours when I’m fly-fishing. I used to be a little wary of them–they do look a lot like little wasps–but I’ve learned that they do not sting or bite, and their larvae are as good as those of ladybugs (ladybirds) for controlling aphids. Best of all worlds!

  7. Winnie says:

    Wow! I don’t have any idea how you do it or understand when you explain, but I’m mesmerized by the beauty I’m unable to see with my naked eye. Particularly like the wings on this little guy.

    • krikitarts says:

      There’s no real magic to it, Winnie, just a bit of dedication and very careful observation, plus a healthy jigger of passion. A good camera with a good lens helps a lot, but it’s amazing what can be done with quite simple and inexpensive cameras as well!

  8. Finn Holding says:

    Awesome! The hoverfly is pin sharp and I love the very slightly out of focus flower. Great image.

    Following on from your reply to Winnie’s comment about hardware, some time ago I mentioned I was considering a second hand Nikon D90 and you suggested checking out the D7000. After some research I took the plunge and acquired the D7000. And I’m very glad I did, it’s an excellent camera and has given some superb images. I got a cheap and cheerful Sigma macro lens to go with it too, and so far I’m pleased with the results from that too. Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

