Here’s looking at you!

No, I have not abandoned my website.  Yes, I am still well and in great spirits.  No, I have not left my cameras sitting around gathering dust.  Yes, I have lots of new stuff to share—as time allows.  I just checked a little while ago and was rather shocked to see that it’s been nearly five weeks since my last post.  I haven’t done the research, but I’m pretty sure this is my longest hiatus so far.  I plan not to let this happen again.

We’ve been up at our lake cabin for 3½ weeks now, and only yesterday have I had the time to finish processing the photos I’ve made so far.  I’ll start with a couple that resulted from a traditional rescue mission.  The mosquitoes have been plaguing us in nearly-unprecedented numbers, especially in early June, but our beloved dragonflies have come to our rescue in equivalent profusion.  A number of the newly-emerged adults invariably misjudge something and make too-close contact with the surface of the lake and wind up floundering and floating, unable to take flight again until/unless they happen to come in lucky contact with a piece of flotsam or some shoreline vegetation—or one of us!  Whenever we see one in the water, we go out of our way to lift it free and let it dry out to resume its hunting—with hopefully a bit more caution in the future, having learned from the experience.

4-Spotted Skimmer 110244-Spotted Skimmer 11015This one was probably a young four-spotted skimmer (Libellula quadrimaculata), and it recovered fully, I am happy to report, and we happily watched it resume its rightful place in the natural order of things.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Wildlife and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Here’s looking at you!

  1. seekraz says:

    Welcome back, dear Gary…have noticed your absence and am happy to know all is well with you in your world. I’m confident you had a great time at the cabin…will look forward to the treasures you reaped while tucked away.

  2. Joan says:

    Gary I remember when we were up at Leech Lake at the resort and the owner brought me a little humming bird that was flying inside his big shed. The little one had exhausted itself trying to get out and he put the little bird in my hands and I gave it the soft touch and brought it back and away it flew. Makes you feel good when you can do something like that to God’s little creatures.

  3. Vicki (from Victoria A Photography) says:

    Have missed you around the blogasphere, Gary, but good to hear cabin life has been rewarding and enjoyable.
    That first shot is one very good macro. I see you were able to get most in focus by taking the shot from the side. The macro experts say to take shots from side-on, but I rarely see the whole insect from that angle and invariably I just have to aim for the head.
    Looking forward to seeing the last 5 weeks resulting images.

    • krikitarts says:

      Having more of the subject in focus isn’t always the best plan for the best photo. I often prefer a more selective focus–it all depends on the moment and the attitude of the subject. Having said that, I nearly always try to get an eye in perfect focus; the rest will fall into place. I cant wait to share the rest of the new stuff!

  4. Mike Powell says:

    I like the sound of a rescue mission for dragonflies, one of my favorite insects. I find them to be cool in so many different ways, from the amazing compound eyes to their incredible flying ability. Having just celebrated a year of blogging, I can understand how a break can be beneficial (after all, there is more to life than WordPress), but I am happy to see you back

    • krikitarts says:

      I know we share a real passion for these amazing insects and can’t seem to get enough. They’re surely among the most specialized of fliers, and their abilities and agility astound me again and again. I’ve been really enjoying the work that you’ve been doing as I catch up on your posts, too. You can sure be proud of what you’ve accomplished in this year!

  5. MikeP says:

    Hey Gary… never fear most of us are still here also. Love dragon flies eyes and the lace in their wings. Maybe the dragon flies rescued you to post… :-)

  6. Wow!!! Those are spectacular macro shots Gary! I’m so glad to hear that you are enjoying your time at the cabin :). Don’t worry about your blog – we will all be waiting here for you when you return. I find I am not posting near as much right now either because I am definitely a summer person, and if it is warm and sunny, you will find me outside with a good book. I am still taking tons of photos, but I am not going to sit inside in front of the computer and miss out on summer. It’s too short to begin with :).

    • krikitarts says:

      Hear you loud & clear, Cindy, and thanks so much! We’re supposed to have quite a bit of rain this week, so I might have a chance to do another. But this morning it’s absolutely beautiful…

  7. Adrian Lewis says:

    Goopd pics, Gary, and good to see you back! Adrian

    • krikitarts says:

      It’s great to be back, and it feels good to be back and sharing again! I’ve missed having my usual leisure time to devote to it, and I’m looking forward to more when I can move it forward a few burners again. I have lots more to share, too!

  8. Meanderer says:

    Hello Gary; lovely to see you back. I love dragonflies – they are curious creatures. I also love their eyes in these images.

    • krikitarts says:

      Late replying again, M–sorry! This one didn’t go into the spam folder but rather the Pending one, for some reason. Hope this will be the last one of your comments that I’ll have to approve manually. I am so in agreement about dragonflies’ eyes! I could just get lost gazing into them, and really must try to see just how close I can come…

  9. Winnie says:

    I knew I liked dragonflies, now I know why. Thanks. I’ll be sharing this with my granddaughter, who is a little scared when these beautiful creatures dive bomb us in the pool.

    • krikitarts says:

      They are not dive-bombing you–they are focused on the other insects that are likely to. They are among our most beneficial helpers in the entire insect world. A single adult dragonfly like this can eliminate hundreds of mosquitoes each day. They make their legs into a sort of basket, catch them in that basket, and gobble them (literally) on the fly. Often, if one is still and raises a hand and a pointy finger, they may land there and, with respectful, gentle movement, you can bring them to within inches of your eyes for intimate study. Be patient and give this a try–it is so rewarding and fascinating! I doubt that there are any recorded instances of a dragonfly ever biting a person. What’s not to love?

  10. Finn says:

    Hello Gary, welcome back, it seems your time away at the lakes was well spent! Lovely dragon pictures.

    • krikitarts says:

      Good to see you again too, Finn. Yes, I love the dragons more than I can say. And who could ask for a more patient subject than one that’s just been saved from an untimely watery end and is enjoying a renewed chance of extended life and acrobatic flight?!

Leave a Reply

