Archives (4): A Winter’s Tale

My good photo-friend Cindy Taylor just posted a beautiful photo that she’d made of a friend of her son’s on stage during a performance, and I was strongly reminded of one of my favorite shots that I made from the audience, some 12 years ago.  My daughter Squiddy was still in undergraduate study at Wellesley College and a member of the Shakespeare Society, and I was on my way to a work assignment in Europe (Denmark, as I recall).  I was able to spend two days with her before the trans-Atlantic flight, during which time I was able to attend not only a rehearsal but two performances of Shakespeare’s “A Winter’s Tale,” in which she played the part of the shepherd’s son.  Those were primitive digital days (I’d only had my first digital camera for a year), but I’ve grown very fond of this photo of her with what she calls her “bagel beard” and two wenches (Mopsa and Dorcas) seated on her knees.  This one is for you, Cindy—and you, too, Squiddy!

Shepherd's son and wenches, 2001

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Archives and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Archives (4): A Winter’s Tale

  1. victoriaaphotographyictoria says:

    What a great shot, Gary.
    Looks like good lighting on the girls too.

  2. Adrian Lewis says:

    Wonderful picture, Gary, full of good stuff and memories, if I can put it that way. And early digital or not, the quality looks fine to me. I’m really enjoying these old photos of your’s! Adrian

  3. Oh, that is fantastic Gary!! You captured such thoughtful expressions on their faces, and I do love the “bagel beard”. Thanks for the shout out by the way :).

    • krikitarts says:

      I’m still waiting to learn the meaning of her term “bagel beard,” and will post an update when I’m a little wiser. And–you’re very welcome!

Leave a Reply

