Drafty Dogwood

Most of you may have noticed that I’ve been getting behind again on opening, viewing, and commenting on your recent offerings.  I have an excuse (of course).  Those of you who have been following me for a while will recall that I had a minor tragedy with the death of my old desktop computer and one of its resident hard drives a little more than a year ago (can so much time have passed already?!), and I’ve been working with just my laptop ever since.  With my musical partner Ron having moved back to Omaha from Phoenix recently, and our renewal of regular guitar sessions and the need to be able to record again, I’ve taken the plunge for a new desktop.  It arrived on Tuesday, two days ahead of schedule, and I’ve been spending every available spare moment building it up with my files and the photo and music software I need, so I’ve been somewhat out of touch.  But I’ll be playing catch-up again very soon.

In the meantime, spring has been progressing here, though we still are getting some chilly spells.  I made myself get out with the camera today to record some of the new blossoms on our young Pagoda Dogwood.  It was quite breezy, and I made a couple of dozen shots, trying to catch my chosen clump of blossoms in a moment when they were stationary; I eventually succeeded and will post the result of that in the next day or two, but one of the images I made when the winds were having their way with me caught my eye as I was going through them for the first time, and I decided to see what I could do with it as an abstract.  Here are my results—and, Adrian, Melanie, and Meanderer, this one’s for you.

Drafty Dogwood 10175

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Abstract and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Drafty Dogwood

  1. Vicki (from Victoria A Photography) says:

    Very nice indeed, Gary. I really like the ‘blues’ in your image.

    (having gone through the death of my own windows desktop in Oct 2012, you have my sympathy in reloading everything. I’m making do with my new little Mac Pro 13″ & the 27″ Dell monitor, but I wish I had more storage room. I’ve copied across many of the bird & animal images from the old back-up hard drive, but can’t seem to copy all my word & excel files across. or the balance of the really good images (which were unfortunately saved in psd size, instead of jpeg. The Mac doesn’t like psd files. All this setting up and copying takes time and I admit I’m too technology challenged to work most of it out).

    • krikitarts says:

      I really considered taking the big leap to an iMac, but I’m not familiar enough with its workings to feel really comfortable, though I know that the challenge of learning a new system would be good for an aging mind. And I’d heard of incompatibilities, especially regarding external hard drives. So I’m sticking with a PC–and a much faster and more powerful one, and with a resident 2-TB hard drive. I doubt I’ll ever have to worry about storage space again.

      • Vicki (from Victoria A Photography) says:

        I love the Mac, Gary, and was surprised to find that I was up and running in 24hrs but I do wish I’d bought the larger memory. Still, it will stop me storing so many mediocre photos (which really would take a mountain of editing to make them decent).

  2. Mike Powell says:

    I may be showing my age, but your image reminds me of a tie-dyed t-shirt. The ragged edges and irregular shades of colors were the kinds of results that were caused by the way in which you placed the rubber bands.

  3. Helen Cherry says:

    You don’t need to apologise.. life often gets in the way of blogging.. as it should ;)

  4. Wow, I too just replaced my desktop unit. I fully appreciate the issue of getting comfortable with the new computer…I look forward to your coming posts.

    • krikitarts says:

      I’m happy that I stayed with the PC platform, but it still takes a lot of time an effort to build it back up to the point that it has everything in place. Thanks for that, Charlie.

  5. Meanderer says:

    Fascinating abstract! Looks like silk reflecting its surroundings. Love it.

    • krikitarts says:

      Oh, M, I was so hoping that you’d be pleased! You are one of my inspirations in my further explorations of the abstract. I completely agree with your seeing similarities with silk (hey, that could be an idea for a new song)!

  6. Adrian Lewis says:

    >>>>>>> THANK YOU, MY FRIEND!!! Excellent! If we’ve had this effect on you, then bring it on. Not sure if you’re emerging into The Light or espousing the Dark Side, but don’t stop!!!

    And I like the image very much. Wonderful blues, and in particular I like that large area of textured chiaroscuro lower right – great stuff! Adrian

    • krikitarts says:

      You are SO very welcome, Adrian! Need there be a light or dark tendency? I don’t think so–though I did lean toward the deeper shades as I was developing this. I may have a few more rounds with this, starting from scratch, to see where they might lead me, too. Meanwhile, I plan to start shooting under “unusual” (e.g., windy) conditions, to expand my imagination and my possibilities. I’m really quite excited at the prospect–and thank YOU!

  7. Ahhhh, Absolutely splendid! I love it!!! :-D

  8. MikeP says:

    Well my friend you are far more in touch than I… I have not been able to post for a while. My youngest just got married in what seemed another country (Texas) so I had to organize my Jersey peeps to all go down. My job for 22yrs just got moved to another school … so I am in the process of packing. Trust me, I very much understand!!!!

    • krikitarts says:

      Wow, Mike, you really have been scrambling. I really hope your job’s transfer isn’t as drastic and heartbreaking as when they moved mine from Omaha to DC. Where will you be moving to? And, yes, Texas is definitely a different country from New Jersey. Just send us a new tidbit when you can, please. Even though not as frequent as some folks’, your posts are always carefully thought-out and well worth waiting for!

  9. Jeff Sinon says:

    Great abstract Gary. Love the colors.

    I completely understand how life gets in the way of other, less important things like reading blogs. At times my inbox is full with notifications of new blog posts awaiting me.

Leave a Reply

