Serenity Sunday: Dogwood becalmed

As a follow-up to yesterday’s post with the totally-unrecognizable dogwood blossoms being buffeted about by the breezes, here is my favorite of the shots I made of them during one of their brief moments of relative calm.  It’s a Pagoda dogwood, so it won’t produce the classic flowers one usually thinks of, with pink-edged and notched petals, but I really like the delicacy of these.  It’s also very young, and this is only its second spring to be producing blossoms.  We transplanted it to its current position about two years ago, and it seems to love its new environment.

Pagoda Dogwood 10172

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Serenity Sunday, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Serenity Sunday: Dogwood becalmed

  1. Vicki (from Victoria A Photography) says:

    Interesting looking flowers. I don’t think I’ve seen a Dogwood like that particular one.

  2. krikitarts says:

    I don’t recall seeing one either–before we got ours.

  3. It is so simple to tell when a plant is happy, they just let you know.

  4. Meanderer says:

    I’ve never seen a dogwood like this before either! How fascinating.

    I love the purple bokeh in the background created by a lilac?

    • krikitarts says:

      Ah, what clever little eyes you have! It is indeed a lilac bush. I may go a few more feet back into what I call the jungle and get a lot closer to the blossoms today. In fact, I think I’ll go now…

Leave a Reply

