Webnesday (4)

Luck favors the bold, and if spiders like to pose for portraits, luck was certainly with this one a few days ago.  Shortly after my last Webnesday post, while studying the nooks and crannies in our little rock wall behind the house, hoping for more of the newly-hatched Platycryptus undatus spiderlings, I spotted a small movement nearby, that was made by a much larger and far more impressive salticid (jumping spider), and I patiently stalked her at comfortable intervals over the next several days, until I was finally able to get close enough with my tripod and remote release for this portrait shot.  She’s a Phidippus audax, commonly known as a bold jumper or daring jumper.  Squiddy helped with the final identification, and she let me know that this particular one is very high on her own wish list, and that she’s been hoping for a chance to see one for many years.  I feel so privileged!  (Click on the photo for a higher-resolution image.)

Phidippus audax 9940

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Webnesday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Webnesday (4)

  1. wolke205 says:

    Die schaut irgendwie witzig aus… mich würd aber nichts mehr halten, würde ich ihr live begegnen ;)

  2. krikitarts says:

    Ich weiss, was Du meinst! Uebrigens, has Du die neue Aufnahme von Heute hier, morgen dort, gesungen von Den Toten Hosen, gehoert?

  3. Frank Wallace says:

    Nice catchlights in all those eyes :-)

  4. Fantastic capture!! It looks like she’s peeking out to get a look at you. Maybe she finds you just as fascinating :).

    • krikitarts says:

      She was probably wondering why I was pushing the envelope of her personal space so frequently and so persistently. She had every right to have a good look at me, to see if I posed a threat. I tried so hard not to appear that I did!

  5. Mike Powell says:

    Wow. That is quite a spider and a great shot of her. You stalked her for several days? That’s real dedication.

    • krikitarts says:

      I do have a special fascination for spiders, as I’m sure you have noted. This one was truly special, as I had not expected to encounter one of her maturity this early in the spring season. I’m sad to say that I haven’t been able to find her again for several days now, and I’m afraid she may have become prey to the sharp-sighted birds that are always looking for anything that moves. I’ll keep a vigil, and time will tell…

  6. victoriaaphotographyictoria says:

    She scares the @$!%! out of me.
    (sorry Gary).
    Great shot anyway.

    • krikitarts says:

      Compared with the spiders that you have to deal with down there, Vicki, this one is a virtual pussycat, in spite of her ferocious-appearing headlamp eyes. I do know something of your spiders down there, and have a healthy respect for them. I remember a Huntsman that I saw crossing the road ahead of me in Tasmania, that I spotted from at least 30 feet away. And I’ve seen a couple of White-Tails that have found their way to New Zealand. In general, one need never worry about the aggressiveness or toxicity of jumping spiders!

  7. Adrian Lewis says:

    Superb shot, Gary, especially when enlarged! The two large central eyes look like a nose and, that recognised, the beast looks like some very strange rodent or some such peering over the rock at us. Good stuff! Adrian

  8. krikitarts says:

    Thanks for the high compliment, Adrain, but I’m afraid I can’t quite keep up with your incredible imagination this time…the eyes look like a nose? The beast looks like a rodent? Maybe I need to track down a source of Highland Park (I’ve been meaning to) so I could see what you see, too…

    • krikitarts says:

      I’m so happy that I was able to make her acquaintance and her portrait, but I haven’t been able to find her again for nearly a week now. I hope she’s found a more secluded hunting ground, as there are so many hungry birds around now.

Leave a Reply

