Hosta luego, Jack

In yesterday’s post, I mentioned that I have some new spring floral images to share and that I would post them later (the Spanish word for “later” is “luego”).  Here are two.  It rained overnight, and yesterday morning when I checked on the new hosta leaves to look for signs that we might have to protect them from the rabbits that frequent our yard, I was drawn to the crystalline beauty of the droplets that were still lingering in their folds.

Hosta 9847-8Also, I am very happy to report that the first several of our Jack-in the pulpit plants have emerged and are in their prime.  I am taking this as a final sign of full-blown spring.

Jack-in-the-pulpit 9816

 

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hosta luego, Jack

  1. Wow, your hostas are way ahead of mine :). Mine are only about 2 inches out of the ground. Love the water droplets – that is a perfect shot!!

    • krikitarts says:

      Well, excuuuse me, but you’ve chosen to settle that much farther north, so what’s your point? Just kidding, of course! I’ve been fascinated with water droplets, dew, frost, rain, etc., for as long as I can remember. Each time I come across a new opportunity, I see it as a new challenge, and try to rise to the occasion. I’m so glad that you like this one, Cindy!

  2. Gorgeous photos; I love the detail, the colors, and of course the droplets that give such an artistic affect.

  3. victoriaaphotography says:

    Those Jack-in-the-pulpit plants look really interesting. I’ve never heard of them before.
    Love the droplets on the leaves. I’m forever looking for those in winter, but I’m afraid I rise too late to catch them in the mornings when the dew dries off fairly quickly.

    • krikitarts says:

      They really are interesting, aren’t they? They bear some resemblance to pitcher plants, but they don’t trap and digest insects. And the droplets–yes, it’s surprising how quickly they can evaporate in a fairly dry climate.

Leave a Reply

