Webnesday (3)

I have several nice new spring floral offerings, but I’ve decided to wait a day or so and present them a bit later than I’d originally planned, in order to bring you this special little sweetie.   In contrast to my last Webnesday post of the wee black & yellow monster, today’s offering is a lot less, um, let us say, striking, and not nearly so fierce-looking.  Not only that, but it was less than an eighth of an inch long.  I was testing a new camera yes- terday that I bought as a honeymoon gift for Batty (Pentax Optio WG-3), and I remem- bered having seen several tiny recently-hatched jumping spiders on one of our rock walls the day before.  So I sat on the top of the short wall and slowly approached to within about an inch and a half of one that made an obliging appearance, rested the camera on one of the rocks for stability, zoomed in for detail (this camera’s full zoom range is available even in extreme macro mode!), and was able to get one shot only before it jumped out of sight again.  It’s probably a Platycryptus undatus, as I’ve seen a number of these here, and the markings appear similar–though it’s a little hard to tell with such a young one.

Platycryptus undatus? 0009

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Webnesday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Webnesday (3)

  1. victoriaaphotography says:

    Great shot, Gary. That must be a fantastic camera (and I envy you the eyesight to see these little critters).

    • krikitarts says:

      Since they are about the size of a flea, I am also very happy that I am able to spot and pursue them as subjects. And, yes, it is a fantastic–and quite reasonably-priced camera. Thanks a lot for your input!

  2. Meanderer says:

    He’s very sweet.
    Also – here is another fan of the Pentax Optio cameras.

  3. krikitarts says:

    They are so much fun, aren’t they? My first was an A-20. When it was a little over a year old it fell into a lake and was there for about 10 minutes until I could retrieve it. I had no hope of its ever functioning normally again, though I tried it occasionally over the next few months, then set it aside. Seven months after its bath, I tried once more on impulse, and it worked just fine again, and has ever since! It lives in the car now, for emergency opportunities.

  4. Adrian Lewis says:

    No contest >>> you are a Spider Portraitist extraordinaire (is the spelling right???) – Gary – wonderful stuff, AGAIN! Adrian

  5. What a cutie-pie! So adorable! :-D A really great capture, Gary.

  6. krikitarts says:

    Awww, Melanie, I think some folks would not quite agree with your endearing terms for the tiny hunter, but I certainly do!

  7. seekraz says:

    Great capture, Gary…his eyes look like fog-lamps on the roof of a desert-dog pick-up truck…. ;)

Leave a Reply

