Weather woes, watchfulness, and wishes

Well, it has happened.  Yesterday turned dark, gloomy, and cold again, and by the time morning arrived, we had the first recorded official snowfall in May in 46 years.  There wasn’t all that much—about an inch—and it was very wet and heavy, but it still gave everyone pause about the state of the developing  spring.  I was out with my camera before making breakfast for CD, who still has to work, and am pleased enough with this photo to share it with you.  It’s a flowering almond (Prunus japonica or glandulosa), and one of our favorite early bloomers.  I just hope the cold snap doesn’t cause any serious damage and that this is the final setback before the warm weather settles in for good!

Flowering almond 9654

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Weather woes, watchfulness, and wishes

  1. Wow, it’s amazing to see snow in May! The snow on the flowering almond makes for a beautiful image. Surely it’s just a temporary setback!

    • krikitarts says:

      Setback? What setback? It’s a challenge and an opportunity and an unexpected visual treat and a reminder that Mama N has the reins and is still in full charge. It was so beautiful out there this morning! I would have posted more, but my last photo yesterday was with incandescent light, and I reset my white balance and forgot (again) to restore it to auto, so I have to run each new image through Lightroom to get it right. It’s going to be a busy weekend, and this is all I had time for. Maybe more soon–we’ll see. Whatever– glad you like it, and thanks for being the first to let me know!

  2. Poor little flowers :(. Nasty, yucky snow! That is one really pretty photo though. I sure hope it melts quickly so the flowers can be happy again.

  3. I appreciate what snow and cold weather in May does to your spirit, but it is really beautiful. You have really captured the good to be found in this event.

    • krikitarts says:

      Thanks, Charlie–considering your home base, your must be quite comfortable with all sorts of weather anomalies. You’re right: Unexpectedly-late snow can be beautiful, and it’s a treat to have the time to appreciate and capture some of it, and pass it on.

  4. Emily Gooch says:

    Unusual circumstance gave you the opportunity to capture a beautiful moment in time. :)

    • krikitarts says:

      It was beautiful, and quite fleeting. When I went back out a couple of hours later, the branch had already sprung back up out of the snow. I’m happy to have seen it!

  5. Ogee says:

    Your “spring” had better hurry, or you’ll have to immediately start posting pictures for fall!

  6. victoriaaphotography says:

    Beautiful image (despite the drop of snow on the Spring flowers).

    Yes, we’re all having crazy, mixed-up seasons again. Yesterday, it was spectacular here in Melbourne, and today…….well, it’s blowing a gale, overcast and looks like winter (not Autumn), and I’ve already put my winter goose down doona on my bed.

  7. I better get my thermals out again. Thanks for the warning!! Nice shot though

  8. Mike Powell says:

    Snow in May? It’s hard to believe. Glad to see you were able to take advantage of the opportunity to get such a beautiful shot.

  9. Meanderer says:

    What a very pretty photo – which just goes to show how resilient Spring plants can be.

  10. Adrian Lewis says:

    Gary, my dear chap, this is a very seriously beautiful image – right up there with your best! And the branch in the background only makes it even better. Total admiration from me! And no I have not been at the cider! Adrian

    • krikitarts says:

      Wow, such kind words! It was indeed a rare opportunity, and I made up my mind to see what I could do to rise to the challenge. To get this shot, I had to sit on a soaked stone (you can probably well imagine the consequences) and brace my elbows on my knees, as there wasn’t room for me to set the camera up on my favorite tripod. I made a dozen or so exposures, and compared them to find the sharpest. I’m so pleased that you are, too!

Leave a Reply

