Webnesday (2)

Well, I’m not surprised to have to report that the nice spring weather has begun to deteriorate and is expected to continue to do so, with snow and sleet possible during the next couple of days.  There are new flowers in the garden, but I’d like to take a break and bring you the second installment in my new Webnesday series.  I’ve seen a few spiders here in the past ten days or so, but only one gave me a brief chance with a camera and disappeared before I could catch anything worthy of posting.  So I’ll take you back about three months to this past February and high summer in New Zealand, and a tiny jumping spider that made an appearance on my last day there, on a window pane near where I was doing some minor carpentry work.  Squiddy was able to identify this little beauty as Trite (rhymes with “mighty”) planiceps.

Trite planiceps 715

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Webnesday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Webnesday (2)

  1. wolke205 says:

    Okay, heute hat s mich doch aus den Latschen gehauen..Grad den Reader aufgemacht und da springt mir die Spinne auch schon förmlich entgegen *bibber* Diego ist auch nicht sonderlich hilfreich bei Spinnen..er schubbst sie mit der Nase an und wo springen die Biester dann hin?? Auf meinen Schuh… ;) Tolles Foto :)

    • krikitarts says:

      Gratuliere! Du hast wohl erheblich viel Fortschritt gemacht, wenn Du ein solches Foto toll—und nicht gerade ekelig—findest! Ich bin sehr froh, daβ Do soweit gekommen bist und danke Dir, daβ Du es mir sagen kannst!

  2. Finn says:

    Splendid chap, he reminds me of one of my son’s toys. Great capture Gary.

    BTW I took your advice of some months ago and I’ve ordered a D7000. They’re rather cheaper now that they’ve been superceded, but still perfectly suited to my needs! Good call, thanks for the tip.

    • krikitarts says:

      I thank you, sir! Your son has toys that look like this? How old is he? Are you preparing him for a career in arachnology? (And you’re very welcome!)

  3. Sorry if my blog depresses you….we might have spring (but don’t tell anyone). Trite …well more like something out of Star Wars or Alien! Great image.

    • krikitarts says:

      On the contrary, my dear fellow, your blog always brings a ray of something worthy of a smile, even when you’re lamenting the return of inclement weather–as am I today. Very blustery out now and colder by the hour. If it doesn’t actually snow, we still could get as much as an inch and a half of rain. A good day to stay in with a glass of single malt and work on photos!

  4. I am looking out my window right now; it is snowing. I feel your pain.

    • krikitarts says:

      It’s not pain, Dan, it’s serene acceptance. Having lived in Minnesota and Wisconsin for several years, a little more snow bothers me not in the least. Quite on the contrary, I actually (usually) welcome it with open arms (and aperture), though there are admittedly times when I wish I were able to go afield in a t-shirt and sun hat rather than a fleece jacket, knit hat, and gloves…

  5. No way!!! How can you possibly have snow in your forecast when it’s warm and sunny way up here?? That’s just not right. However, that is one super duper spidey photo :).

    • krikitarts says:

      Hey, Cindy! Wanna house-swap for a few days? It’s actually dropping barley-sized frozen droplets here. The Germans actually call it barley-snow (Graupel-Schnee); we don’t really have a word for it in our standard English. The Finns probably have at least a half-dozen dedicated words for its various proportions and consistencies. Truth be told, it really doesn’t bother me, though. I’m hoping for some really rare photo-ops in the morning, as this will be the first snowfall in Omaha in May in 46 years. BTW, I’m delighted that you like my Trite so much–aren’t they simply amazing?!

      • I love ya my friend, but no way am I house swapping :). I have had more than my fill of snow this year, and after sitting out in the sun today there’s no going back for me now. In fact, if it snowed here again I think I would sink into a serious depression LOL!! I really should live on a tropical island.

  6. Ohhh, fantastic. I’m a big arachnophile, as you may know. This is a lovely photo. Sorry to hear the weather is taking a turn.

    • krikitarts says:

      I do know, Melanie, and I’ve been eager to hear what you think of it. No real problem with the weather. It has its own agenda (as do we all), and there’s nothing we can do about it except to embrace it and take advantage of the opportunities it provides, to the best of our abilities. I can’t wait to see what tomorrow morning brings!

  7. Meanderer says:

    Wonderful close-up. It’s great to be able to see the detail of these fascinating creatures!

  8. krikitarts says:

    They really are fascinating, aren’t they? I am so in awe of their incredible headlamp-eyes. And I’m delighted that so many of you like them, too–some who were initially shocked are actually losing some of their squeamish repugnance, a very good sign!

  9. Adrian Lewis says:

    Another absolutely superb picture, Gary, a real mind blower this time >>> a Space Alien!!!! I greatly admire your spider portraits. Adrian

    • krikitarts says:

      I am so pleased how this last-day opportunity turned out, and thanks for letting me know that you like it so much, too. They really are amazing creatures, and a thinking person can’t help but admire their incredible specialization. Thanks for your support, my friend!

  10. skuk2 says:

    Excellent close up shot Gary.

    I’m not a big fan of spiders (one reason I no longer like venturing out to “the Shed”) and tend to keep my distance, treble that for a jumping spider! If you got too close would it actually jump at you?

    • krikitarts says:

      Hey, Steve, I’d suggest that you don’t dismiss so casually the opportunities that might await you in The Shed! Just show a little healthy respect and reasonable distance, and someone just might be ready to pose for a portrait. And, to answer your question–about their jumping on (not at) the photographer–it’s happened to me a number of times, and they’ve been as inquisitive and unagressive as I was, and also, there are so few reported accounts of jumping spiders biting people that you could count the total on one hand and have fingers left over. On several occasions, I’ve had my subjects jump right onto the lens of the camera I was using to approach them. It pays to have two cameras…

Leave a Reply

