Veni, vidi…Vinca!

It didn’t reach the predicted high temperature today.  Sigh.  It probably won’t again tomorrow.  Sigh.  But apparently our periwinkles (Vinca major) are impatient for more favorable conditions.  So am I, as you may have noticed.  Many more blossoms have appeared, and this particular one, with its close neighbor of the double acorn caps, spoke to me yesterday afternoon and invited me to a portrait session.  I was only too happy to oblige.  I sincerely wish you all a most imminent turn for the better!

Vinca major 9241

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Veni, vidi…Vinca!

  1. That is a beautiful photo. I really love the detail and the context. I know your goal was to share the Vinca, but it is a really well done photo.

    • krikitarts says:

      Actually, though my initial goal was to share the Vinca, as I studied it in its natural surroundings and set up my composition, the entire still life took on a life of its own. Thanks for sharing my enthusiasm with the result. Each time I look at it, I like it a little more. Love it when this happens!

  2. MikeP says:

    Very nice portrait indeed… sure does welcome me in.

  3. seekraz says:

    Beautiful photo, Gary…love those colors…rich and earthy…and bright blue, too. :)

    • krikitarts says:

      Thanks so much, Scott–I really do love the combination of the earth-tones of last season’s leaves and the new splash of hopeful springtime blue. Such a magical time of year!

  4. A wonderful photograph! I LOVE this! What a great composition. Such lovely color.

  5. krikitarts says:

    I can’t take much credit for the natural elements around the blossom or its color, but I did have great fun with the composition. I’m so happy that you like it so much!

  6. Adrian Lewis says:

    This is beautiful, Gary – I love all the different shapes and colours! The flower makes it. Adrian

    • krikitarts says:

      Thanks so much, Adrian! The twin acorn caps and last autumn’s oak leaf added up to a wonderful bonus; I knew as soon as I saw them together that they would make for a special combination. So glad you agree!

  7. Finn says:

    Lovely picture Gary, the composition couldn’t have been better if you’d placed the individual elements there by hand. Gorgeous!

    Spring has finally arrived in Cambridge, the last week has been lovely and the May blossom is lining the local meadow. At last.

    (BTW, Good to be back in the blogosphere :-) )

Leave a Reply

