Can it be?

Is it really possible that it’s finally happening?  We reached the high 50s yesterday and it’s already 66°F (19°C) at 1:30 pm today.  And that longed-for feeling is finally in the air.  The deep purple crocus gave up trying to stay in bloom, and the white one bravely kept up the effort through yesterday, but it too has faded now.

8975-6-7 mapped 1x +PSE postBut several tulips are making their appearance, pushing up through the thick blanket of last year’s fallen leaves.

Daffodils 8996-7-8Also, the daffodil shoots are coming on strong again, and there seem to more than ever this year.  I think they must have grown a whole inch yesterday.  They are still too young to blossom, but it looks like it won’t be long at all now.

Daffodils 8984-5-6I saw the first house wren late Wednesday and wanted to get a photo, but by the time I was back at the window with my long lens, it had disappeared for the night.  I heard it again briefly early yesterday morning, but then there was no further sign of it.  And today is CD’s non-work day, so we’re planning to get a good start on the necessary YardWork.  I, for one, am looking forward to it.  May your days also warm appreciably very soon now—and happy spring!

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Can it be?

  1. Adrian says:

    Gary, what a great post,I´m on the other side of the world but Spring is here too , lovely watching the flowers grow from a bulb. :)

  2. krikitarts says:

    Wishes and dreams come true Adrian! Um, are you really sitting there and watching them emerge minute by minute? Can’t blame you a bit–I’ve been (almost) doing the same thing. Sure feels great!

  3. Yayyyyy!!!!!! Thank you – I needed that. Wait until you see my next post. My hubby lay out on our deck today surrounded by snow, and he actually got a suntan. It was hilarious!! He’s tired of waiting for Spring :).

    • krikitarts says:

      Whoa–slow down, Cindy! You aren’t planning to post photos of his tan lines, are you? So happy to hear that my real-time spring report is warming you, at least a bit. It sure is making me feel better! Hopefully yours won’t be too far behind!

  4. Jeff Sinon says:

    Ahh, the fresh smell of spring, there is nothing better after a long snowy winter. Though winter is fast becoming my favorite time of year to photograph, I’m looking forward to the snow disappearing from the woods and for the wildflowers to start blooming.

    And let’s not forget the fly fishing :-)

    • krikitarts says:

      I’m right there with you on both counts, Jeff. We’re going up to the cabin next week to do our first check on things, but it will be quite some time before the wildflowers appear there. And probably no trout stalking till May. But I’m a patient fellow and they’re well worth waiting for!

  5. Meanderer says:

    What a lovely sight! I’m so pleased Spring is happening for you right now :-)

    • krikitarts says:

      Thanks, M; what a treat to find new signs every day. We’re finally supposed to have rain today and tomorrow, so that should help a great deal with the new growth. Stay tuned!

  6. Adrian Lewis says:

    Glad to hear you’re warming up, Gary >>> it hasn’t really happened here yet! Adrian

  7. krikitarts says:

    Ooooh, it is so nice–just finished breakfast, and I can’t wait to get out there!

  8. zannyro says:

    woo-hoo! woo-hoo! woo-hoo! It’s warm here too!!

Leave a Reply

