Spring back (6)

For today’s spring flashback, I’d like to rewind my world clock by some eleven years.  While on a working trip in France, I had a weekend free to explore the natural beauty of Bretagne/Brittany and, from my base in Quimper, chose to make a day trip to the western points of the peninsula that juts out into the English channel.  My first destination was the Pointe du Raz, where I found a wonderful crop of sea thrift (Armeria maritima) clinging to one of its south-facing slopes.

Pointe du Raz-2My second was the Pointe du Van, slightly to the north.  There were more sea thrift  growing at the inland edge of the inlet with longer stems and fuller flowers, and I was captivated by them.  As I looked closely, I noticed a beautiful, metallic-green beetle that was apparently enjoying his tumultuous ride in the stiff on-shore winds.

Blister Beetle PduVan 02I have since managed to identify it as a blister beetle (family Meloidae).  It took me nearly half an hour of cramped patience, straddling the swaying stalk, waiting for a brief moment of relative calm, to make three acceptable images.  In the other two, my subject was, unfortunately for me, facing away from my camera.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Travels and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Spring back (6)

  1. Now come on stop it……your teasing us now! We continue to shiver in the cold.

    • krikitarts says:

      Hey, David, I know, I’m shivering here, too. I’m not teasing you, really–I’m doing this every bit as much for my own sense of warmth remembered as for (hopefully) yours!

  2. Sea thrift is so hardy and blooming for so many months, I really like this image!

    • krikitarts says:

      Thank you so much for the identification–you’re absolutely right. I’ve been looking for these flowers’ names ever since my visit. I’m very grateful–and thanks for stopping by as well!

  3. Well Gary, your patience in uncomfortable positions was well worth it – these are beautiful!! They give me that peaceful feeling I was talking about on my blog tonight :).

  4. Meanderer says:

    I love thrift – such a strong reliable and very pretty plant. I like the diagonals in the first image – and the lighthouse completes the picture perfectly!

  5. Adrian Lewis says:

    Good images, Gary, especially the top one – the leftwards slant of the mass of flowers works 100% with the rocks and islets in the backdrop, leading my eye out to that lighthouse. Good stuff! Adrian

  6. victoriaaphotography says:

    I love the diagonals in the first image too. In fact, I’m gradually starting to look for that type of diagonal as that which makes a nice image (as opposed to the rule of thirds).
    Sea thrift is a very pretty flower and your photos show its simple beauty really well.

  7. krikitarts says:

    I really feel very lucky to have been able to capture a few sharp images. The winds that day were really fierce! Thanks, Victoria!

  8. zannyro says:

    Oooooohhh what a name….a “blister” beetle…sounds NASTY! The image however, is not!..Just beautiful…so sharp!!

  9. wolke205 says:

    Gorgeous ♥ Die zarten und doch kräftigen Farben..die Landschaft…*seufz*

  10. seekraz says:

    Very nicely composed, Gary…love the fuzzy background objects in that first shot that completes the image…provides a wonderful stage for the beautiful flowers.

  11. krikitarts says:

    Very kind words, Scott. There is something so invigorating about being next to the sea and breathing in all the fresh, fragrant, ionized air!

Leave a Reply

