World Water Day 2013

Niagara Falls 8aIt’s been a long time since I posted twice in the same day, but I’ve been reminded by The Nature Conservancy, which we support, that it’s World Water Day.  Frantically searching my archival memory for an appropriate offering, two in particular, um, sort of floated to the top. This is Niagara Falls, seen from the Canadian side, in spring (now, isn’t that also appropriate?!) 2005.

WOC - the Turtle 08And this was not a springtime photo, but it’s from one of my favorite places—White Oak Canyon, near the tiny community of Syria, Virginia, in October 2008.

 

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Travels and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to World Water Day 2013

  1. victoriaaphotography says:

    Great photos. Seeing Niagara Falls must be one of those once-in-a-lifetime experiences.

    • krikitarts says:

      I think this was my third opportunity–but my first from the Canadian side. I think it’s far better seen from the perspective of out great neighbor to the north!

  2. Both of these photos have such amazing qualities. Instead of just taking a picture of the falls, I love how you included the bent over tree. It adds such character to the shot!! And the second photo is simply dreamy :). It’s like my eyes are travelling along with the water, and then they are drawn to and focus right in on the little red leaf. Awesome!!

    • krikitarts says:

      I’m sure there are others, but I’ve never seen another photo of the falls that included this fabulous tree–as I walked along the path going upriver to the falls itself, it simply reached out and grabbed me, and I knew that this was the shot I wanted. Regarding the second image, the resemblance of the rock to a turtle’s head captured me as soon as I saw it, and the red leaf was an added bonus. Thanks again, Frances!

  3. Helen Cherry says:

    Most excellent photos Gary.. and thanks for reminding people… I Support wateraid.. http://www.wateraid.org/uk ( there’s a drop down flag menu for lots of other countries)

    • krikitarts says:

      Thanks for the compliment, Helen, and you’re most welcome–we all need to remind people to pitch in and do what we can to support the organizations that help to further the cause of preserving the natural world for those who will still be here to appreciate it when we are no longer. There are so many issues with water that it’s hard to know where to start, but every contribution helps!

  4. argylesock says:

    These photos are so excellent, I got emotional seeing them. Please may I steal them as userpics for my personal blog? If so, how would you like me to credit you?

  5. Finn Holding says:

    You found a unique view of Niagara there Gary. And a unique tree too, it reminds me of ones I’ve seen on the coast here which have been blown horizontal by the prevailing winds.

    • krikitarts says:

      Oh, I love those trees! One could do a whole study of them, bent and shaped over time by the prevailing winds. They seem to have restless spirits in residence.

      • Finn Holding says:

        That would be a great subject for another blog. And I love the idea of them being the homes of restless spirits – yet another reason we should be showing the trees a little more respect!

  6. Adrian Lewis says:

    Both excellent pictures, Gary! Spring? Well we were up on top of the Mendip Hills earlier today, at about 900 feet altitude I suppose, and there was fine snow falling – and parts of the UK north and east of us have had heavy falls. Adrian

    • krikitarts says:

      Oh, that spritely spring spirit can be such a tease! Sooner or later, though, she’s going to have to get over her stage fright and take a fresh switch to ol’ man Winter’s backside!

  7. Meanderer says:

    Love the second image and the way the leaf is serenely sitting there whilst the water whirls and flows around it. I also like the way the rock above it looks like the head of an old tortoise – wise and all-seeing.

  8. Nice photos of the falls!

  9. seekraz says:

    Certainly captured the spirit of the post, Gary. I’ve not been to Niagra, but have seen many fierce images of the falls and vapor of that living water…I have to admit, I do rather prefer your more gentle image…if that can be said of a rushing torrent…. And that single leaf on the rock is very striking…all it needs is a rogue moment of washing water to move it from it’s perch…temporal beauty…wonderful.

  10. krikitarts says:

    If/when you do get the chance to visit Niagara, be sure to cross over and see the Horseshoe Falls from the Canadian side. I greatly prefer that perspective. And I did a little dance of glee when I first saw the image I’d made of the leaf by the turtle rock. So glad you like it, too!

Leave a Reply

