Spring back (2)

I’ve been having great fun (during pauses in my wrestling match with Turbo Tax) with my new project of bringing you tastes of spring from bygone days in far (and near) reaches of my experiences.  For my second installment, I’ll turn back the clock to 2004 and a trip to Mexico.  One of my stops was in Monterrey, the capitol city of the state of Nuevo León.  The city is surrounded by mountains, some of which have spectacular rock formations.

La Huasteca vertical slabs

La Huasteca vertical slabs

I had a weekend free, and a colleague invited me on an excursion to get out of the city and  into the nearby canyon of La Huasteca.  I was amazed by the incredible 300-meter vertical slabs of rock that surround the canyon, and the flat areas in the center with their rich perfusion of prickly-pear cactus in bloom were a delight to behold.

La Huasteca Prickly Pear

La Huasteca Prickly Pear

Any trip to the Monterrey area should include this side trip!

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Travels and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Spring back (2)

  1. Wow! Another splendid post! Such different perspectives in both, but equally inviting (minus the thorns in the second one ;-) ). The cheerful yellows brighten my day.

  2. krikitarts says:

    Yellows do that for me, too, Melanie. As for the spines, you’re not supposed to investigate them too closely (or sit on them), just enjoy them from a safe distance–unless you’re hungry. The young and tender fleshy parts can be harvested and their thorns burned off, and they make for a very tasty accompaniment, called nopal (pron. no-PAHL) in Spanish, to eggs for breakfast. Delicious!

  3. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a cactus in bloom. Amazing.

    • krikitarts says:

      Thanks, PK, it’s really wonderful to be able to catch one in bloom, and well worth the wait. I have a few more that I’m planning to add at some point. Have you heard of nopal (see my reply to Lemony’s comment, above)? I most strongly recommend that you ask around in you local Mexican restaurants–it’s a real treat, and well worth the effort in arranging to sample it. Trust me!

  4. wolke205 says:

    Einfach nur bezaubernd schön :)

  5. victoriaaphotography says:

    I love that first shot of the rock formations – really well composed and shot.

    I’m lucky enough to have the cactus blooming in the Botanical Gardens near my home, but it was still very interesting to see prickly pear blooms in the wild. That’s what I miss by living in the inner city – seeing so many plants in their natural habitat.

    • krikitarts says:

      I was able to visit the canyon twice while I was there. It’s really incredible, and I hope to post more views of it, but I think these two portray best what I’m trying to share regarding the wonderful springs I’ve been able to experience. I have never really lived in the inner city, though I’ve considered it–and what you say resonates a chord in me. I need reasonable access to the natural areas, too.

  6. Meanderer says:

    How lovely to see the prickly pears in bloom. Such beautiful gentle colours.

  7. krikitarts says:

    You’re so right–I felt like I was standing in the midst of a tremendous watercolor mural.

  8. seekraz says:

    That second shot reminds me of my old home a bit north of there…and the first one seems like it’s from any place other than what I’ve seen and know of Mexico…which, admittedly, isn’t very much. Very pretty images, Gary.

  9. krikitarts says:

    Thank you, Scott, it’s a pleasure to introduce folks to places new to their own experience–as you very well know!

Leave a Reply

