Warm wishes and the Waitaks

Continuing my chronicles of my recent New Zealand adventures, and with delight in memories of warmer days so recently experienced combining with eager anticipation of warmer weather here as well, let me take you for a while to the Waitakere (pronounced wye-TACK-ery) Ranges Regional Park (commonly called the Waitaks by folks who live in the vicinity), which lies along the western edge of the Auckland metropolitan area.  It’s a drive of about an hour from downtown, and a favorite hiking area of ours.

Waitak Overlook 6895There are some 250 km of hiking trails (tracks) in the park, which stretches 25 km from north to south.  On the day we visited, seven weeks ago, we chose the Fairy Falls Track.

Fairy Falls Track 6943Fairy Falls Track 6949My geezer knee did not like the idea of my going all the way downhill to the falls, but I kept up quite well indeed until the trail began to get really steep.  There were very few other hikers on the same track, and it provided another idyllic immersion into more of this wonderful country’s gently magnificent native forests.

Upstream from Fairy Falls 6937

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Travels and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Warm wishes and the Waitaks

  1. The Waitaks are amazing. I used to deliver telephone books out west for my grandparents’ hockey club, and going out there was always the favourite part of the trip, even if some of the terrain out there was the hardest work.

    • krikitarts says:

      Where did you have to go, and what did you have to do to get there, that made it such hard work? I hope you weren’t delivering the books on foot!

      • We’d go all over Titirangi and Green Bay, running along side a ute with people tossing bags of yellow and white pages out the back at you to put by the letter boxes. The process of running and catching in some of those more windy Titirangi passages could get pretty tiring. You’d be at it for a full day all weekend.

      • krikitarts says:

        Wow, you must have been in great condition to be able to keep up that pace!

  2. victoriaaphotography says:

    Such a beautiful unspoilt stretch of nature. Your photos capture the atmosphere amongst the trees really well. It looks wild & untouched by human hands (except for the trail). Sounds like the dodgey knee held up well.

  3. krikitarts says:

    I’m already looking forward to a lot of further exploration of this area, and it’s so easily accessible from the city. You’d think you’d have to drive for hours to find such a pristine treasure.

  4. Meanderer says:

    It looks wonderful. So lush.

  5. krikitarts says:

    It sure is, and there’s a quiet peace there that makes you tend to hold your breath.

  6. zannyro says:

    This looks like something out a fairy tale…what an enchanting place :)

  7. Adrian Lewis says:

    The second picture down looks really primeval, Gary – excellent shot! I think that the two things that do it for me are the the big tree right of center, which tilts to the right and has its branches splaying out to the right; and that horizontal (presumably fallen) branch upper left, which takes my eye into the picture. A

    • krikitarts says:

      I felt the same things at the time, plus the inviting brighter light in the distance where the path disappears–I couldn’t wait to see what lay beyond!

  8. Finn Holding says:

    Wow. Is all of NZ as green as that? I hope it survives climate change.

    Reading the Peckish Kiwi’s comments further up: if that’s how the post gets delivered in NZ I can see why they’re such skilful rugby players!

    • krikitarts says:

      I wish I could answer your question in the affirmative, but I’ve heard that only about 3% of native bush still remains. Nonetheless, the modern Kiwis, in my experience, are excellent stewards of all that they now have to work with, and places like this are very well cherished and protected.

  9. seekraz says:

    The places you have seen, Gary…gorgeous….

  10. krikitarts says:

    I have indeed been very fortunate. The all-expenses-paid world travels are the only thing that I miss from the days before my retirement!

Leave a Reply

