Underenthused

Yesterday our temperature reached 61°F (16°C) with only mild winds—completely balmy and beautiful.  Today it’s freezing.  The wind is biting and roaring through the trees.  The crocuses have closed back up and are hunkered down and shivering.  The daffodils will not grow today.  The new tulip shoots that I saw yesterday look like they’re reconsidering any further emergence for the time being.  I am not pleased or impressed.  Neither is Leo.

Leo 908Let’s see—what can I do today to help to lift my spirits and take my mind off my chest cold and the depressing conditions outside?  Oh, I have it—let’s start working on the taxes.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Underenthused

  1. Adrian Lewis says:

    Leo, eh? Beautiful creature – I love cats! Adrian

    • krikitarts says:

      Yup, Leo. And he is a love. There are few things in this world more comforting than having a warm, purring cat lying on your chest. Thanks, Adrian. You’ve already helped to brighten up my day!

  2. wolke205 says:

    What a cutie he is :) It s freezing cold here, loads of snow…

  3. krikitarts says:

    Not much snow at all left here, but it’s freezing today, too. Yes, a cutie–and a sweetie!

  4. I totally understand. Three days ago I was getting a sunburn on the beach and this morning on the way home we hit a nasty snowstorm in Pennsylvania!! Now I am totally depressed :(.

  5. seekraz says:

    Leo most definitely looks underenthused…poor guy…..

  6. victoriaaphotography says:

    Leo looks very fed up indeed.
    (and you’re a glutton for punishment doing your taxes AND feeling miserable with a cold).

    • krikitarts says:

      Cats (and dogs) can be so empathetic, it’s almost uncanny sometimes. They seem to know when we need a warm, furry purr or a gentle chin on the knee. I have a hard time trying to imagine a normal life without at least one dog and one cat. And you can ease up a little on your worrying about me–I didn’t get to the taxes today. Surprise.

  7. Leo is beautiful! Drop over to my journal and you can see my two. :)

    • krikitarts says:

      Hi, Jennifer, and thanks for stopping by! You do have some lovely cats there. And Newfoundland–wow! And we thought we were getting tired of winter hanging on–how much harder must it be for you?!

      • Actually, we have been known to have some nice springy (is that a word?) days in April, but usually it doesn’t warm up til May or even June. And we will have more rain than snow over the next few weeks. Thanks for dropping in on my kitties. :)
        Jennifer

  8. settleandchase says:

    Awww Leo. It will be Spring again soon! (I hope..!)

  9. krikitarts says:

    He started to purr again when I read him your comment! No, honestly!

  10. Finn Holding says:

    I’m obviously no expert in cat body language because I thought he looked mildly bored but otherwise contented, in that offhand feline fashion :-)

    The weather is similarly bonkers over here in the UK too. It’s bitterly cold today and very windy, the south west has had wide scale floods and we’re forecast for snow tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

